Soap and Glory Hand Food Hand Cream

I don’t know about you but this time of year wreaks havoc on my hands. If I’m not careful my cuticles split, my palms get dry and my knuckles and the skin between my thumb and forefinger gets chapped like crazy. With this in mind, I’m going to be doing some reviews on a whole range of hand creams so you can make the best choice for you.

First stop: Soap and Glory Hand Food Hand Cream

Soap and Glory are easy to spot on the shelves with their attractive candy pink packaging and quirky 1950s designs. The distinctive packaging makes the productive looks more expensive that its £4.85 for the 125ml or £2.35 for the travel sized 50 ml price tag.

Let’s start with the scent. It’s listed as having the “Original Pink fragrance” but seeing as that’s a bit vague, I’ll describe it to you. I’ve recently been ill and heavily scented products have either made my headache worse or made me feel quite sick. This, however, has a very distinctive scent without being overpowering. Some would call it sweet but I think it’s nuttier with a citrus twist. It contains shea butter and macadamia oil, which could explain it, but all I can say is that it leaves a lovely, mild scent on your hands long after you’ve applied it.

The texture of the cream is rich and it’s quite concentrated so you don’t need much (if they’re in a half decent condition). I must admit, I do find it a little sticky and if you’re using a magic mouse or a trackpad it’s a little too greasy to have complete control of your computer. Immediately after application it will feel as though you have a protective layer on your skin and when you wash your hands it will feel similar to when you wash an oily saucepan. However, after it’s had time to sink in/wear off a bit, your hands will feel great.

As I say, if your hands are in fairly good nick this cream will do the trick in small doses. You honestly only need a pea sized dollop for each application so the tube will last you ages.  If your hands are a little worse for wear, this does take a bit of time to fix the problem if it can at all.

I do have a little bit of a problem with the packaging. Advertised for chapped and hampered skin, it warns not to use on “irritated or damaged skin”. I don’t know about you but I think that’s a bit confusing. It’s also described as a “non- greasy” hand cream but I can assure you, you will have a greasy residue after use.

Overall, despite my moaning, I do quite like it. It’s good value for money and it’s definitely a product you could keep in your handbag and not feel ashamed to whip out. I would use it once the worst of my skin damage has gone but not as a main treatment. “The most astonishing hand cream?” No. Would I buy it again? That’s to be determined.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Soap and Glory Hand Food Hand Cream

  1. xxxMissVxxx says:

    It’s amazing the amount of hand care products that claim to be non-greasy but actually are. My most favourite hand cream is the shea butter one from L’Occataine. Need a tiny amount and for me, very minimal grease!

  2. Great post! My hands get really dry and chapped over the winter as well. I find Shea butter from L’Occitane is good but very greasy. It was my fav for a long time but I felt it stopped working as well after a while. But atm my favourite is the Ahava deadsea minerals Mud hand cream. Its amazing!

Leave a Reply

