17 Nail Xtras Black Glitter Crackle Top

I’ve never tried 17 before. I know it’s a bit bizarre that I haven’t but I’ve never been drawn to it. I don’t know if it’s because of the packaging or that it feels very young but it just never appealed to me. But when I saw their new Black Glitter Crackle Top I thought I’d give it a go, it’s almost Christmas and I need a bit of sparkle.

I have been sucked into the crackle top craze and I always forget that I don’t really like them as a whole and 17’s version is possibly the worst I’ve come across.

If you’ve used a crackle top before you know what to expect. Paint your nails the colour of your choice and once dry paint a single layer and wait for the crackle to appear. And the 17 version does this… kind of.

Left hand with a medium-thick layer of varnish

So with most crackle tops the effect appears within 60 seconds. The 17 crackle top stayed solid for about three minutes before it started to crack and to be honest, it didn’t have a nice effect. The cracks are pretty sparse and for the most part very thin and to the naked eye, it’s only when you bring your nails a few inches from your face that you can really appreciate the effect.

There are two things that really bothered me about the varnish.

The first is that the glitter is pretty but from what I can see it has caused problems with the crackle effect. The glitter has congregated in little groups forming solid patches on the nail. Areas that did not have the glitter had the cracked effect I would expect from this type of varnish. If the pieces of glitter were finer it may have had a better effect but unfortunately it just didn’t work.

Right hand with a "thin" layer of varnish

The second is to do with application. If you’ve used crack tops before you know that if you paint a thin layer you get smaller cracks that are almost like brushstrokes and if you paint a thicker layer you get chunkier patches that usually forms unusual shapes. With this varnish you have no real option but to paint it fairly thick. The varnish dries on the brush really quickly so when applying you have to work fast and even that may not work. As it’s already partially dry when you apply it to the nail it’s very difficult to get a really thin layer without having to re-dip the brush and creating a thick build up on the nail.

From the pictures it doesn’t look too bad but in all honesty I don’t think I’ll use it often if at all. It’s the same price as Barry M and the quality is significantly worse. I would much rather use a good quality black crackle top and paint a glitter top coat to get a similar effect.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “17 Nail Xtras Black Glitter Crackle Top

  1. I’ve never tried any crackle finish nail polish, but I’m intrigued.

  2. Leah says:

    Thanks for sharing this, I’ll keep it in mind. I too was never a fan of the crackle that much!

  3. jess says:

    I used this nail varnish as well and it is pants! Booo!

Leave a Reply

