Barry M Navy Nail Polish

I know I’ve been doing a lot of Barry M nail polishes recently but after trying to do a tutorial, which went terribly, wrong because of the terribly cold weather (all will make sense soon) I painted my nails with Barry M’s Navy 292 and it is so stunning that I had to write about it straight away.

Please excuse the messy application and the fact that the camera really can’t capture the beauty of this shade.

The application is lovely. It’s smooth, even and has a great frost finish. I applied one coat over a white basecoat and it went on like a dream. The finish was opaque after one coat but I should image that on a natural nail it would be best to apply two thin layers.

The photos make the colour significantly lighter even without a flash than it is to the naked eye. It obviously changes depending on what light you’re in but unless florescent lights or possibly the summer sun surrounds you, it’s going to be darker. The actual tone is a gorgeous, rich dark navy that looks really expensive. If black isn’t your thing this would make a great alternative and it would look great on all skin tones.

If you read my previous post about Andrea Fulerton’s Rain Fall Trio you’ll remember me saying that I wanted to try the shimmer varnish over different colours. Well, this was the perfect colour for that. Though the navy doesn’t give it the same aqua effect the turquoise counterpart does it still provides a beautiful opal, almost northern lights effect.

It’s a great colour for winter and for an evening out. If you were planning on layering or adding a glitter topcoat I would suggest doing it over 12 hours. Through the night I must have pressed the varnish into my clothes as it has impressions all over the nail. It is my own fault for layering a basecoat, white coat, navy coat and glitter coat all within about 5 hours but I just thought I’d warn you.

Like most Barry M varnishes you can find this online or in your local Boots or Superdrug for £2.99.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Barry M Navy Nail Polish

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love Barry M nail varnishes Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.com

  2. Thanks for the follow! Great blog, was excited to see the review on the Barry M gold crackle effect as I passed it by this Saturday! xx

  3. Sana says:

    Sucha lovely blog, a new follower from http://www.sunniewrites.blogspot.com, would love if you follow me back 🙂 xxxx

Leave a Reply

