30 Days of Christmas Shopping: Day 27, Gingerbread House

Is anybody else freaking out? I thought so. Less than a week to go and there’s still plenty of shopping to do. Today’s gift has a positively Christmas theme and is a great additional gift for the family, significant other, housemates or kids.

Gingerbread House

 

For the first time ever I made a gingerbread house last year. I made the dough myself, I made the icing, I cut out the shapes and my boyfriend and I assembled it. It was a lot of fun. It wasn’t the prettiest gingerbread house ever made but it was made with love and we now have an awesome Christmas memory.

Why not do the same with someone you love this Christmas? If you have the time to made the gingerbread yourself then why not give it a go? It was the first time I had ever attempted to make it and it turned out pretty well.

Here’s the basic recipe I used http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4900/ – though I went off list for decorations.

 

If you don’t feel confident enough baking the gingerbread yourself or you simply don’t have time there are plenty of places to buy pre-made kits that you can adapt with your own decorations. I’ve seen them in: Debenhams, John Lewis, Heal’s, WH Smiths and more.

It’s a really simple idea but why not start a tradition this year and get everyone active on Christmas day instead of watching the TV specials?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Christmas Shopping: Day 27, Gingerbread House

  1. […] gift guide. This included a review of her gingerbread making experience and a recommendation of a gingerbread house making kit and a look into the best bookmarks to buy as Christmas […]

  2. […] gift guide. This included a review of her gingerbread making experience and a recommendation of a gingerbread house making kit and a look into the best bookmarks to buy as Christmas […]

Leave a Reply

