Resolutions going strong: Tomato, Basil and Chilli Soup from Cook Yourself Thin

Day 2 of 2012 and I’ve already broken one of my resolutions… kind of. But it wasn’t a big one and I personally don’t think it really counted so I don’t feel THAT bad. I have however taken some of the others very seriously. I’ve bought a newspaper, I’ve only watched one episode of Deadwood while eating lunch with the boy and I’ve been drinking water and cranberry juice all day – pretty good huh!? Now, as another part of my “Get Healthier” plan, I decided to crack the spin of my Cook Yourself Thin book and actually make some of the recipes. I’m terrible at following recipes and as I’m allergic to some base ingredients I do usually have to alter things but I did it without too much deviation and it worked out pretty well.

Today’s lunch was:

Tomato, basil and chilli soup

Me being me, I did alter some ingredients (mainly due to allergies, some out of idiocy, some for taste) so I will just tell you what I did rather than list off what it says in the book.

Ingredients:

1 leek finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 tin of plum tomatoes

½ teaspoon dried crushed chilli flakes

1 ½ handfuls of freshly chopped basil

3 tablespoons of low fat crème fraiche

1 teaspoon chilli infused olive oil

3 cups of water

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon of sugar

 

How to:

Add oil to a medium pan and heat before adding leeks and garlic. Sweat until leeks are translucent and flexible – this will take roughly 10 minutes and you have to keep stirring so it doesn’t catch the bottom. Add chilli flakes and cook for another minute or two.

Add tomatoes and either fill the tin with water twice and add to the pan or use measuring cups. Add salt, pepper and sugar and stir. Bring it to the boil and then simmer for about 25-30 minutes until it is reduced.

Add basil and stir in before adding crème fraiche. Stir until the crème fraiche is fully encorporated in the soup and take off heat.

Blend the mixture. I don’t have a hand blender anymore so I just whacked it in your run of the mill blender and voila you have your soup.

I must say it tasted pretty good BUT I foolishly used too much chilli. Maybe the chilli flakes AND chilli oil were a bit overkill – note for next time. Due to the heat I did have to use a third tablespoon of crème fraishe otherwise two would have sufficed.  I personally could have used a bit more sugar just to brighten it up a bit but otherwise it was very tasty.

The recipe in the book says it makes 4 servings and each serving is 95 calories. As this was for our lunch we split it between the two of us and added a wholegrain pita bread. With the extra crème fraiche, the serving size and the pita bread lunch came in at less than 400 calories each and it filled both of us up so they’ll be no snacking before dinner time.

So my first Cook Yourself Thin recipe seems to have been a success. Let’s hope the others are too.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Resolutions going strong: Tomato, Basil and Chilli Soup from Cook Yourself Thin

  1. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Sounds yummy. Now I am not trying to lose weight, but since there is creme fraiche (it being always a winner for me, I must try it!

  2. This sounds delish. Please send some to me because I am way too lazy to actually cook anything with more than one or two steps.

  3. […] am already enjoying the ongoing saga of Carly-Ann coping with her New Year resolutions and her posting on a great healthy tomato, basil and chilli soup was a pleasure to […]

  4. […] am already enjoying the ongoing saga of Carly-Ann coping with her New Year resolutions and her posting on a great healthy tomato, basil and chilli soup was a pleasure to […]

Leave a Reply

