It’s my birthday today…

Today is my birthday and for the first time in my life, I’m spending the day alone. I was dreading today for weeks but now it’s here it’s not so bad. I have already received some lovely presents, I have bought myself some DVDs to keep my occupied and I have a little fluffy friend keeping me company. So my blog post will be brief but surprisingly positive.

As I’ve been eating healthier the past two weeks I decided that I was allowed to eat whatever I want today. I’ve opted for a Marks and Spencers Victoria Sponge Cake and a Marks and Spencers mini-pizza. Now the sad thing is that I’ve eaten the pizza for lunch (I skipped breakfast) and I’m now too full to have the cake… maybe later huh?

I’m lucky enough to live right next door to a HMV so I popped in and bought a few DVDs. The fact of the matter is that I will probably only watch one if any today (as I’ve been watching the Great Sports Relief Bake Off and have plans to catch up on some TV I’ve missed) but knowing that they’re there makes me feel better.

I posted my birthday wish list last week and the lovely people at Soap and Glory saw the post. They have sent me a beautiful box full of goodies to try and write about which I will do for you shortly. I’ve already tried a couple things for an evening out on Tuesday but I will take some time and take some proper before and after pictures and post reviews shortly.

Though my boyfriend is at work today and was practically asleep when he gave me my presents at midnight last night, he managed to give me a happy surprise. He bought me the Cath Kidston bag I’ve been coveting (read dropping heavy hints on seemingly deaf ears) for ages. The bag is very me and he also bought me a matching umbrella after I somehow lost my last one. What a lovely boy he is.

So far today I have been relaxing at home with my cat Honey sat on my lap purring and loving the attention or trying to claim all of my things.  She was possibly the best thing to come out of 2011 and today would be a lot lonelier if it wasn’t for her – and now I sound like a crazy cat lady.

I’m seeing my family this weekend and my boyfriend is taking me for a meal at Bar Shu tonight so all in all it hasn’t been a terrible day.

Thank you everyone who have sent me birthday wishes, you too have made me feel less lonely today!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “It’s my birthday today…

  1. Emily says:

    Happy birthday!!!

    Free Soap and Glory? You lucky thing, you. That Cath Kidston bag is also lovely.

    Have a great day! Enjoy your Victoria sponge 🙂

  2. stinas says:

    Happy Birthday Carly!!! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday my dear!! XXX

  4. welshfifi88 says:

    Happy Birthday, and what lovely gifts you had 🙂 The cake looks scrummy, it’s always good to treat yourself on your birthday!
    Hope you have a lovely day!

  5. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Happy birthday again Carly 🙂
    Love the handbag (and you even got a matching umbrella, now that is a nice boyfriend!)

  6. […] been using this for a while. It was sent to me along with a Kabuki brush by Soap and Glory for my birthday and it took me a while to get used to it but now I love […]

Leave a Reply

