A little bit of Chanel goes a long way… Black Satin Nail Colour review

After doing some intense housework I broke one of my talons. I was quite upset as it split down to the nail bed and unless I wanted to file my nails into horrid pointed claws (I know they’re still on the cusp of being “in” but they are pretty horrendous) I had to cut them all down. Two months of growth and maintenance down the drain and it was actually physically painful to cut them. The main reason I was sad was because I was planning on giving myself an at home, DIY Chanel mani for my birthday. With a slightly heavy heart, I accepted my little, stumpy nails and decided to do it anyway.

For Christmas my mum bought me Chanel’s Black Satin 219 nail colour. I knew I was getting the mat top from my brother but this was a nice little bonus. I didn’t really know how I felt about the choice of black to begin with as I have half a dozen different black polishes but I thought, “hey, it’s Chanel…” and I was quite chuffed.

I honestly don’t know where to begin with this because I am actually a bit speechless. I have used Chanel polishes before but the Black Satin is just breath taking.

Let’s start with the packaging. Its classic, simple black box with gold edging used for all Chanel polishes makes it feel even more special when you open it. The bottle is simple, sturdy and the simplicity of the shape gives it the class associated with Chanel. If you’ve not used Chanel nail polish before you’ll be delighted with an added quirk: the cap comes off and becomes a brush stand – they think of everything.

The application is smoother than silk. It glides onto the nail with no drag, no brushstrokes and no streakiness. It’s really easy to manipulate the polish on the nail and the brush is sturdy but flexible meaning that you get great lines really neat edges.

You only need one coat and it is perfect. I know I only have stubby nails at the moment so can’t test to see if there is a visible nail line (unless I pin my boyfriend down and paint his nails) but on the surface I do have, the colour is solid with no streaks and a truer black than two coats of any other brand I’ve used. You probably could do a second coat if you have any roughness on your nail or any imperfections on your nail bed but otherwise one is enough.

It doesn’t dry as quickly as I was hoping. It’s not a sit down and do nothing for an hour job but it certainly takes longer than I was expecting. With most high end products you usually have a touch dry surface after three or four minutes but this took significantly longer. But it’s Chanel so you want to enjoy the process and not rush it anyway so I can’t complain too much.

The finish is beautiful. It’s sleek and (if you have good nails) and pretty much a perfect example of what nail polish should look like. It’s just a good, honest, classic crème finish that does have a satin like glossiness to it.

Every girl (and a lot of guys) has a black nail polish in her collection and I would now say that if you can extend your budget to the £17.50 this bottle will set you back, it’s well worth it. As you only need one coat it will last a lot longer than your basic Rimmel or Barry M and the insane quality will surpass most other brands. It  definitely won’t feel like boring black nails after you apply it, that’s for sure.

I can’t wait to try the mat top with this and I think I’m going to have a little fun with it so watch this space.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “A little bit of Chanel goes a long way… Black Satin Nail Colour review

  1. Your nails are cute!
    When I had Chanel nail varnish at the manicurist, it chipped of by the next day, do you know if that’s all Chanel nail varnish or if the lady who does my nails just sucks….

    Nicole
    http://loyaltofashion.wordpress.com/

    xxx

    • Hey Nicole.
      I’ve used Chanel before and it lasted for a good 5 days without chipping each time. I will let you know how long this one lasts. I imagine she used a topcoat too so it should have lasted even longer =s.
      I’ll let you know how long this one lasts thought =)
      Thanks for popping by and commenting.
      Carly x

  2. HumanoidHQ says:

    I’ve only ever owned one Chanel nail polish in my lifetime but I am immediately vowing to own another quick smart!!!! Long talons or not lady, you’re are extremely pretty and perfectly shaped!
    x

  3. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Only one coat needed? I’m impressed!!

  4. Alina says:

    Wow. I didn’t know that there was Chanel Nail Polish! Do you have any pictures of your talons from before? I saw some once on a bus and those are scary. I couldn’t do it but you tried at least 😉

    Check out my blog if you like 🙂

  5. Jake Sauvage says:

    Oh god, the Chanel nail polishes are SO sexy it actually kills me.

Leave a Reply

