A little bit of naughty turned nice: Cod, Potato and Chorizo recipe

Being on a diet and eating healthily can be hard. You crave the things you’re used to, your sugar intake is dramatically lowered and if you’re not mentally prepared you can easily stumble at the first hurdle. This is why I have taken a different view of my healthy eating plan this time round. It’s all fresh, home cooked food with lots of colours, tastes and avoiding the really bad bits. I also have a naughty day every 10 days or so, so I don’t feel like I’m depriving myself too much.

Yesterday I forgot to eat lunch or really anything during the day. Not the healthiest thing to do but what’s done is done. So I decided that I could afford a few extra carbohydrates and a couple extra calories for my evening meal.

One of my favourite dishes to cook at home is really quick, simple and really, really tasty so I thought that if I took away a bit of oil here, a splash of wine there I could make it healthy. I’m not usually a fan of fish but just the thought of this dish makes my mouth water.

I changed a few minor things from the original recipe to make it one healthier and two lower in calories so it still fits in with the diet plan and I didn’t have to feel too guilty.

Ingredients:

2 loins of cod

30-40g sliced, deli chorizo

250g new potatoes

1 pack of cherry tomatoes

1 small glass of white wine

Spray cooking oil

Salt and pepper

Tabasco sauce

Green beans (or broccoli) to serve

How to:

 

  1. Prepare your potatoes. Wash, cut in half and then slice into half-centimetre slices.
  2. Heat a large lidded frying pan or medium sized saucepan with a couple sprays of the oil. Slice your chorizo into strips and throw them into the pan and cook until the chorizo’s oil comes out.
  3. Add the potatoes, lightly season and add a dash of tabasco and stir until all the potatoes are coated in the chorizo oil. Pour in ¾ of the glass of wine, stir and place the lid firmly on top and turn the heat down a little so you don’t catch the bottom.
  4. Let the potatoes cook for about 10 minutes stirring once or twice. Whilst they’re cooking, wash and cut your tomatoes in half.
  5. When the potatoes are golden and tender, add the tomatoes, a tiny bit of salt to help the juices come out quicker and stir. Replace lid and leave for about 1 minute and stir again.
  6. Season the cod and place on top of the potatoes, tomatoes and chorizo. Pour over the rest of the wine and place the lid back on. Let it cook for about 5 minutes or until the cod is opaque and flaky.
  7. Serve with your cooked green beans (I boiled my water and started cooking them just before the cod went it) and enjoy!

I love this dish. When I used to make it before it was cooked with olive oil and a chorizo sausage, more wine and fewer tomatoes. This method has a lot less fat, fewer calories and it’s actually a lot tastier because you get more of the natural flavours through. It’s still not the most diet friendly of dishes but if you have some extra calories left over from the day then why not? It’s only going to be about 450 calories per serving – and each serving is a lot of food and it can stand to lose a couple more potatoes.

This is super quick too. It takes about 30 minutes from start to finish and you’re only using one pan for the main dish so washing up will be uber easy.

What dish have you made healthier to fit your New Years resolution?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A little bit of naughty turned nice: Cod, Potato and Chorizo recipe

  1. Emily says:

    Ooh, this looks blummin delicious! Definitely on the menu soon 🙂

  2. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Looks lovely, healthy and warming (in a nicer way than soup), and even if I’m not on a diet I will definitely give it a go!

Leave a Reply

