Cook Yourself Thin part 3: Pitta Pizzas

It’s week four of the New Year so that means it’s week four of my healthy lifestyle plan. I’ve found that I’m eating a lot of the same food: steamed chicken and veg, stir-fried vegetables, salads etc so I thought I’d spice it up. As you know I’ve slowly been going through the Cook Yourself Thin recipe book and trying a few suggestions (with the odd alteration) to see what works and what doesn’t and what I would change for the future. As both my boyfriend and I had only eaten a small lunch all day I opted for one of the naughtier sounding recipes (usually suggested for lunch) to fix a craving we’ve both been having.

Pitta pizzas are a lot quicker and healthier than picking up the phone and ordering a full-blown pizza. The ingredients are fresher, healthier and it takes about twenty minutes to prep and cook.

Ingredients:

4 wholemeal pitta breads

1 400g tin of chopped tomatoes

1 pinch of caster sugar

2 pinches of hot chilli powder

6 slices of deli chorizo cut into strips

½ red sweet pepper

2 mushrooms

30g ricotta cheese

Sprinkle of Parmesan cheese

A side salad of your choice with very little olive oil, a pinch of salt and some vinegar. I chose lettuce, sweetcorn and sweet pepper.

How to:

 

  1. Preheat your oven to 220 degrees C (adjust for fan assisted)
  2. With a sharp knife, cut a 1cm boarder in the top layer of the pittas and remove the leftover bread. Place them on a baking tray and put them in the oven for 3-4 minutes to crisp a little (remember each oven is different so keep an eye on it).
  3. While the pittas are in the oven, drain the tomatoes of all excess juice and stir in some oregano and basil. After removing the pittas from the oven divide the tomatoes between the four pittas.
  4. Sprinkle each with sugar and chilli powder and then layer toppings and dot the ricotta cheese on top.
  5. Bake the pittas in the oven for about 12 minutes and make sure they’re heated right the way through.
  6. Serve immediately with your side salad.

 Verdict:

We had two each as each pitta comes to around 300 calories and we had well over 1,000 calories to play with. For me this was plenty of food and I was beyond full but my boyfriend was still hungry after (even though he had the bigger pittas with more toppings and more of the salad). In future I’ll probably give him 2 and a half and I’ll have 1 and a half – that should keep him happy.

I did buy some jalapeños and low fat cheddar cheese but decided not to use them. This would have made a world of difference. Even though I put a decent amount of chilli powder on them and more chorizo than suggested, it was a little bland. The ricotta cheese and Parmesan don’t provide enough flavour to warrant the extra calories either. Maybe I didn’t use enough Parmesan (it suggested 5g and I used less) but I would prefer a little low fat cheddar and a bit of salt rather than the ricotta and the Parmesan to give it the extra umph it so desperately needed.

Overall, it’s a recipe (or rather concept) I would try again but I would change a lot. I guess it’s a great way of preparing a favourite meal with fewer calories but giving you a lot of freedom at the same time. The recipe in the book lists green olives and sundried tomatoes and red onions, all things that either I’m allergic to or the boy dislikes so I deviated a lot but the olives and the sundried tomatoes have a fair amount of calories which I used in my side salad instead. If you don’t go overboard and work out what you’re putting on it, then you can keep it healthy but have exactly what you want.

Have you tried a pitta pizza before? How did you find it?

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Cook Yourself Thin part 3: Pitta Pizzas

  1. sugarpuffish says:

    I have done this before but I also like to use Tortillas, they make a thin & crispy style base

Leave a Reply

