Today I’m going to make a horrible beauty confession. My name is Carly and I have terrible pores. When I was younger I thought my skin was invincible. I would drink alcohol, party all night, forget to remove my make up and if I did 9 times out of 10 it would be with a face wipe instead of a proper cleanser or even soap.  I moisturised when I remembered to rather than on a daily basis and my intake of pure water was pretty much minimal. And boy have I paid for that. Years later my skin’s in pretty good condition and I work hard on keeping it that way but I still can’t get rid of these pesky pores. I decided to bring out the big guns and buy some pore reducing treatments a few months ago and this is what I’ve found so far.

The only products I’ve tried so far are the Pore Refining Solutions Correcting Serum and the Instant Perfector from Clinique. I’ve only tried these two products as they go hand in hand and the serum is supposed to be a long-term treatment so I didn’t want to interrupt it with another.

The serum promises to “bring healthier cells to the surface for a tighter, smoother, younger look.” It’s a really light serum with a satin texture that should be applied under your moisturiser. The instant affect it has on your skin is fairly noticeable, it makes it feel smoother and softer but you have to be careful not to apply too much (which is easily done) as the additional layers will cause a build up that will easily rub and cause little rolls of excess product.

The results have been what I expected. They’ve made my pores a little less noticeable but it hasn’t caused miracles. I don’t know if this product can be the sole contributor to the reduction in my pore size as I have also upped my water intake, exfoliated regularly and moisturise day and night – all small steps to fight pore enlargement. It’s not the cheapest treatment at £36 but it does last a long time and it does provide a nice base when used sparingly. Kind of telling that I can’t focus too much on the affect it’s had on my skin though huh?

I've lost the box for this so a stock image will have to do, sorry

The Instant Perfector is a slightly different story. The best way to apply the product is over moisturiser and under foundation (though you can use it alone or over makeup but the result is not as good). This product doesn’t offer any lasting promises or any long term effects, all it is, is basically polyfiller for your pores. That’s the best way to describe it. It fills them in so you can glide over it with your makeup and make your skin look faultless (kind of). But it does clog your pores. After using this consistently for a couple of weeks I noticed that there was something wrong with my skin. Even with exfoliating and cleansing my skin twice a day, I still had product in my pores. It was like a breakout without actually having any natural spots so you have to be careful how much you use, how often and maybe use a cleansing mask or Liz Earle’s Cleanse and Polish with a hot cloth after each use.

Unlike the serum, the Instant Perfector is a lot denser but still has the satin finish. It has a matter finish and it does leave the skin soft and smooth but it’s unsurprising that the creamy, thick product clogs the pores.

These products do kind of work but for the price, they don’t work well enough and the side effects and hassle are a bit too much. I probably wouldn’t recommend them especially if you’re planning on applying it daily and I’m certainly going to look for another treatment.

Which treatments have you used?

My poor pores – Clinque’s Pore Reducing Solutions

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My poor pores – Clinque’s Pore Reducing Solutions

  1. k Elizabeth says:

    I’ve read numerous times that using unfiltered apple cider vinegar as a toner helps correct large pores. =/ Hope you find something that works 4 you!

  2. xxxMissVxxx says:

    I started using the Clarisonic thingy and although it hasn’t made the miraculous difference to my skin that the reviews claim, it has helped reduce my pores and make my skin smoother and softer. Maybe have a look at that!

Leave a Reply

