Does POP pop? Pop’s Jade Metal polish review

 

A few days ago I posted my January nail polish haul. And there was a fair amount of polish in there. In the comments it was requested that I review the POP Jade Metal next so your wish is my command, though I was more than happy to do so. It’s the first time I’ve used POP so it’s quite an adventure for me.

So firstly, the packaging is lovely. The rectangular bottle with minimal silver writing lets you get the full benefit of the colour. That coupled with its long, slender, silver brushed top makes it a very contemporary but very pretty bottle. It’s also nice and slim so it can slot into the gaps in my polish box (I’ll show you later).

Obviously because this is such a long bottle the applicator is equally as long. It’s also attached to a very thin brush. This made me a bit worried about application as in my experience thin brushes mean streaky polish.

The polish itself is a metallic finish with a clear polish and really dense jade and silver glitter to the point that it was hard to actually see that it had a clear base.

The application is pretty smooth. You have to work to polish on the nail a bit more due to the slender brush but the length actually helps with accuracy and though it goes on a little streaky, the glitter settles to give a decent finish.

One coat provides decent cover but if you have long nails I would go for two to ensure you get full opacity on the nail line. I must warn you though that this polish takes a long time to dry. After allowing a single coat to dry for an hour I tried to open a jar of product and got depression marks on my nails.  If you’re planning on two coats, I would give yourself plenty of time between them to ensure they dry properly.


The colour is a love it or hate it type of colour. I really like it but it’s not something you could wear in the office or to a networking event. It would be much better on a beach holiday somewhere or maybe over Christmas. It’s a definite winner for nail art or for younger people but I don’t think I can get away with wearing this on a day-to-day basis.

I’ve had this on for two days now and I haven’t put a topcoat on. I’m a little disappointed to tell you that the tips have already faded and even chipped a little. Yesterday I did some nail art on them and in one spot it’s peeled off the entire colour.

It’s a shame because I really like the colour and I’m looking forward to wearing it in the summer but it will require a good quality topcoat and more upkeep than I really want to give it.

Now just a quick aside… I was asked if where I keep all my polishes and if they are in fact in little boxes and the answer is yes, yes they are. All my frequently used tools and most of the polishes are kept in these three boxes. I don’t even want to think about the monetary value of the three of them combined =s

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Does POP pop? Pop’s Jade Metal polish review

  1. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    I do love the colour. But thin brushes usually equal a big mess for me, and I do not like having to wait for a very long time to wait for it to dry 😦

  2. Solipsism Dreams says:

    i love the colour!!

    http://solipsismdreams.wordpress.com/

    Loretta xx

  3. Joy Peyton says:

    That color really does “pop.” I usually stay away from green polish but this is perfect!

  4. […] He was quite impressive and unbelievably beautiful. During the week I had painted my nails with the POP Jade Metal and thought it needed something extra so I decided to try a peacock […]

Leave a Reply

