MUA Cosmetics – Lipsticks review

If you read my blog you’ll know that I’m a big Barry M user. I usually stick to the nail polish but I do have a couple lip-glosses and loose eye powders… and a couple eyeliners, so I can easily say that it’s my go to brand for value, drugstore cosmetics. However, I’ve recently thought that this is unfair. There are so many other brands that are in the same price range or cheaper that I should give a go. I will be featuring a series of blog posts of such brands. In particular MUA Cosmetics – a full range of makeup for £1 each. £1! Today will be focusing on lipsticks.

Each lipstick has a unique colour ranging from a sheer, shimmery pink to a bright, almost matte finish red. And that’s not all. With each lipstick you get a little pot of gloss on the bottom of each bullet (though some are a nightmare to get off).

Left to right: Shade 14, Shade 5, Shade 2, Shade 9, Shade 10, Shade 13, Shade 12

I bought seven of them – I know… but they’re £1 each. You can afford to at that price – so I’ll briefly review each one for you.

From top to bottom: Shade 10, Shade 13, Shade 2, Shade 12, Shade 14, Shade 9, Shade 5

Shade 5 is a really shimmery baby pink. The bullet makes the colour look a little bright but on the skin it’s a lovely, sheer, barely-there colour. It’s really smooth and moisturising and great for everyday use. It’s definitely the one if you’re looking for a subtle gloss.

Shade 9 is a shimmery bronze with pink undertones. Again, this colour looks a little dark in the bullet but on the skin it provides a very warm sheen with enough gloss, shimmer and pigmentation to draw attention to the lips without being ostentatious. It’s a lovely colour that will work with your natural lip colour and just give them a bit of oomph.

Shade 14 is an almost matte nude. It has quite a heavy orange tint that doesn’t work with my skin tone but it’s still got a great creamy, moisturising formula that is really wearable for someone that’s seeking this colour.

Shade 12 is an almost hot pink colour with gold glitter accents. The colour on the skin is practically the same as that in the bullet. It’s vibrant and glossy and really not for me. I personally can’t get away with this kind of shade, especially with my red hair but for the right person it’s a winner. Again, the texture and application is great but a little more solid than the sheerer colours.

 

Shade 2 is a light wine colour with very fine shimmer running through it. This is my favourite heavily pigmented colour. It has a lovely warm plum tint and the shimmer is barely noticeable. It’s not as pigmented on the lip as I was expecting but it’s a great colour for an all-day lipstick. Again, it’s slightly drier than the sheerer and more shimmery colours but it doesn’t dry out the lips or feel heavy at all.

 

Shade 13 is a bright, scarlet red. It’s definitely the most pigmented and the most noticeable colour. It’s a proper vintage red too so if you’re looking for a new lipstick that you can use daily then this is for you. It has the same texture as the others but the only problem I’ve found with this colour is that it does stain your skin. It took a lot of scrubbing to get it off my arm and off my lips but if you want to wear it all day long then it’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s a little bit too bright for me but it’s a staple colour so I’m pleased I got it.

 

Shade 10 is very similar to shade 9 but with a redder finish. As they are so similar I won’t comment too much on the colour but if you were looking for more of a statement lip, this would be the one to go for out of the two. This does have a slightly sleeker appearance due to the heavier pigmentation and it is on the creamier side when it comes to texture.

So there we have it £7 for 7 lipsticks. Compared to Barry M, they are of similar quality. The only downside I have to say overall is that they get a little sweaty if warmed up at all so it’ll be interesting to see how they react in the summer. It’s obvious that it’s not going to be the same quality as a Chanel or a Dior or even a Lancome but it’s insane value for £1. If you need to test if a colour looks good on you or you want an everyday lipstick then give it a go. I doubt you’ll regret it.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “MUA Cosmetics – Lipsticks review

  1. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    I like the look of these lipstick, and the little pot of gloss comeing together with the lipstick is a great addition. And for £1 a pop, you can’t really go wrong!

  2. xo says:

    Howwwwwwww do I get to the gloss??? Haha did you see my blog post the other day about it? It’s doing my head in! About to break out the pliers!!! 😉

  3. […] I used it after I tested the MUA Cosmetics lipsticks. Shade 10 (the bright red) had really stained my skin and I was finding it really difficult to […]

Leave a Reply

