The Body Shop to the rescue – Almond Nail & Cuticle Oil

My cuticles are my enemy. No matter what I do they grow uncontrollably, they dry out and they split, they’re just basically a nightmare. If I let them grow they would take up a third of my nail bed so I have to trim them. As you can imagine, this can be very damaging to the cuticle and can cause even more drying and flaking. Add on top of that how often I paint my nails and the amount of polish remover I use, my nails are pretty screwed. With this in mind, I have to use cuticle oils and moisturisers to treat them after the long and gruelling process to make them and my nails healthier. Recently The Body Shop released a new Almond Oil Nail & Cuticle Oil in a handy brush applicator with a handy tool to push back the cuticles.

The applicator is neat, handy and fuss free. It fits nicely in your hand and has a twist dispensing mechanism so you can easily throw it into your bag and not worry about spillage. The brush is soft and flexible and the tool is made of soft rubber so it’s very gentle on the skin.

You don’t need too much – one twist should be sufficient per hand – and the oil is absorbed into the skin very quickly and you can see a notable difference immediately. The nails even have a bit more life in them and look healthier. If you were looking to get a proper, lasting treatment from this I would recommend using it on natural nails several times every day for a week or so and then maybe pulling it back to every three days or when you’ve removed your polish.

 

Nails before use - I know, they're terrible

If you’ve got normal cuticles then it should help nourish the skin and help push them back without damaging them. If like me you have mutant cuticles, it really does soothe them and help repair the damage and you’ll really benefit from the added vitamins and natural oils (almond, soya, olive and beeswax). But it’s not a miracle cure. It will moisturise them and condition them but it’s similar to hand cream – constant and consistent application is best.

 

After use

The one thing I don’t like about it is that the packaging is completely opaque. I have no way of telling how much product I have used but that’s a very minor detail.

Seeing as it’s just £7 and has a wonderfully handy applicator and tool I’m very impressed. I’ve only used it three times and even though the uses have been spaced out, I’ve still noticed the difference in the condition of the cuticles. I do see this more as a cuticle treatment than a nail treatment but maybe the improvements will come with more time.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Body Shop to the rescue – Almond Nail & Cuticle Oil

  1. Pauline says:

    Your cuticles definitely look improved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

