Starry, Starry night, the galaxy at my finger tips – Barry M Nail Art

I’ve wanted to do this nail art for a while but for some reason I just didn’t. After a little nudge from some lovely people on Twitter I decided to give it a go. Once again I have used all Barry M products as they are perfect for this sort of task.

Galaxy nails have a bit of wonder, a bit of awe and definitely a look of complexity to them. They look really special and they’re surprising versatile so you can really put your own stamp on them. I’ll quickly show you the technique and a couple alternative looks you can achieve.

Step one: Paint your nails black. I painted my nails 24 hours before with two coats of Barry M’s Black 047.

Step two: Get a make up sponge and tear off a piece. You want it a little bit jagged and it’s best if you can get some corners to control the design. Grab a pair of tweezers for accuracy. Each colour will be added with the sponge using a stippling motion. You don’t want too mush polish on the sponge as the colours will become blocky.

Step three: Dip the sponge in some Matt White 066 and stipple the shape of your nebulous onto the nail.

Step four: Dip the sponge in Yellow 134 and lightly stipple over the white. You can go over sections and add more colours to add more texture.

Step five: Use the same motion with Tangerine 136 and lightly cover the yellow and start pushing the boarder of the nebulous into the black.

Step six: Take Bright Pink 279 and Navy 292 and use the same motion. This time just trace the outside of the nebulous and start working out to the black until it’s nicely faded.

Step seven: Take a sheer blue and stipple lightly over the whole nail. This adds texture and blends the colours. I used a sheer blue that I bought years ago and it’s number 180. It’s a great blue and there must be a similar blue in the collection but if not, sheer colours like Emerald Green or Aqua Blue should do the trick.

Step eight: Grab a toothpick and dip it into the Matt White. Use a quick stippling motion to dot on some stars and then add a couple larger stars in the nebulous.

Step nine: Finally use Pink Iridescent 264 to add a bit of sparkle and seal in the design.

You can do so many looks with this.

You can do a double nebulous. You can use different colours and layer them differently. I used the Lilac Foil instead of yellow to form the base colour. I then used the Bright Pink on selected areas with Cobalt Blue 291 in opposite positions and Vivid Purple 161 to fade into the black and finished with the sheer blue. This is my favourite combination and it has a much softer look.

I also did a green version using Lime Green 137, Spring Green 290, Racing Green 299 topped off with Emerald Green 284.

It does get a little messy so remember to get some heavy duty nail polish remover and some cotton beds to clean up. I use Cutex Ultra Cleansing which from my experience does the best job.

And voila. A lovely set of unusual, fun and impressive nails. I’m certainly going to do this more often.

Here are the different colour combos I used incase you were interested:

 

Have you had a try before?  Is this something you would like me to do a video tutorial on?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Starry, Starry night, the galaxy at my finger tips – Barry M Nail Art

  1. How creative! love it! xoxo

  2. welshfifi88 says:

    They look gorgeous, great effect 🙂

  3. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Wow it looks amazing! Great job there Carly!

  4. Sarirah says:

    Wow, this looks amazing! I can’t begin to imagine how long this would take. :p

  5. tanyajo says:

    This is why I love me a fabulous “Beauty-Blog” – “Starry, Starry Night” would look beyond fab with some of this Spring’s coolest trends – It’s all about Mixin’ it up, and this nail-art definitely “Pops” – luv it.

    Great Blog, please check-out Fashioncow.com – tanyajo

  6. Miss Lego says:

    Wonderful! this is original and inventive, I have never seen nairl art like this. Thumbs up!

  7. LuceeLoves says:

    Wow! These look incredible! From your initial picture, I’m so surprised at how simple this really is, step by step!
    I’m so excited, I may give this a shot this weekend!
    Lovely blog post, can’t wait to read more!

    xxx

  8. Rachel says:

    These are simply incredible, you did a brilliant job!

  9. bea says:

    These are amazing honey!!! Love em!!! XX
    Bea @ beabarella.blogspot.com

  10. Inge says:

    This looks fantastic! Very nice idea 🙂

  11. […] held me back. But I still walked out with two polishes and I have a third from February: Teal, Black and Silvery […]

Leave a Reply

