My Flu Survival Guide: Beauty Edition – Part Three

Yesterday I told you about two items that have saved my skin after the flu. Today I shall share a couple more. This one is something I usually don’t think about when I have a cold or the flu. When you’re really bunged up, it’s really hard to sleep. I know that this week I haven’t had a whole nights rest. I’ve either had to get up and blow my nose or had a coughing fit and ended up staring at the ceiling for an hour or just can’t get comfortable and had to read in bed. This, the lack of hydration in your skin and the cold itself will lead to puffy, tired eyes. I’ve never really thought too much about it before but seeing as I’m getting a bit older now, I can’t just whack on a bit of concealer and ignore it, I actually have to combat it.Gatineau’s Aquamemory

I am a big fan of eye gels. Nothing feels better than a nice, cooling sensation on your tired eyes. I have used many in the past but at the moment, the only one I have is the Gatineau Aquamemory.

It’s a roll on moisture replenish gel that is supposed to combat puffiness and just cool the eyes. With the pressure of coughing, sneezing, blowing your nose and all the other nastiness that comes with flu, your eyes do take a bit of a battering. And I don’t know about you but when I get a fever I feel like my eyeballs are boiling.

The Gatineau Auqamemory is actually a pretty thick, opaque gel for a roll on. I also feel like you need quite a lot of product to cover both lids as the gel didn’t spread far enough but my skin may just need the extra hydration at the moment. After you’ve rolled the product on, you just gently massaged the gel into your skin with your ring fingers as you would any eye product. The roll on is actually pretty smooth and it’s supposed to help with the draining process so it’s a lot more pleasant than other roll on eye gels I’ve tried.

The gel is soothing. You do get a lovely cooling sensation and after a week of looking like a zombie, my puffiness has definitely decreased and the dark circles have all but disappeared. I’ve applied it five times over the past few days and I must say I have noticed the difference.

Now this is where it gets complicated. I am grateful for this product as it has helped my eyes and it is in no way a bad product but for £31.00 for 15 ml I am not entirely happy. I recently tried Super Bright Eyed, which is a fraction cheaper but felt a lot more soothing and I probably would have turned to this first if I had some available.

But saying all of that, I think I’m just being picky as I am used to good quality from Gatineau. All I can say is that for a skin survival tip use a cooling, moisturising gel on your eyes to bring them back to life. I can’t entirely back the Gatineau but it did certainly help.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

