Game Inspired – Beat Sneak Bandit nail art

Today will be a quick piece of nail art inspired by a very cool iOS game. Beat Sneak Bandit is the new release from Simogo and it’s a rhythm, stealth, puzzle game. It came out last week and I’ve not really seen anything like it before. My boyfriend became obsessed with it and I didn’t really get to talk to him for about 6 days. So in tribute of the game and seeing as I had some time on my hands I did some Beat Sneak Bandit inspired nail art.

I won’t go into full details of all the techniques as I’ve shown them on my blog before but I’ll link to them.

I started out with three background colours: fuchsia, nude and turquoise. I painted my middle finger and ring finger with the nude, my little finger with the turquoise and my thumb and index finger with the fuchsia.

I then used some scotch tape and created diagonal lines on my middle and ring fingers so they formed a corner. I painted the top half turquoise and the bottom half fuchsia. One thing to remember when using scotch tape for nail art is to remove it immediately while the polish is still wet to get clean lines.

This is the tricky part and the thing I want to focus on. For the characters I used a bit of an odd technique. As they are so small and so detailed I chose to create them on a plastic sheet and then transfer them.

Usually I would use a sandwich bag – I didn’t have one so used cling film, which does work but not as well. I drew the shape of my nails underneath the bag so that I could get the right size. I used white polish to create the shape of the characters and let them dry for about an hour.

When they were dry, I added colour and detail. I chose to use the main character and his sidekick Frog. When I’d finished painting, I let them dry. I give it a couple of hours as the layers were quite thick.

When it was dry I peeled them off with tweezers. When you do this with a sandwich bag it’s a lot easier, the cling film is a lot more fiddly. I even had to cheat with the main character and cut around the shape with scissors as the polish was stretching.

I painted a nail with a clear polish and placed my character on top and pressed it down with a large dotting tool. Then I painted another clear coat to seal in the design.

For the surrounding nails I painted the little clocks you have to collect in the game. I used a similar technique as I did in my peacock nail design. I made a large circle using black polish and a large dotting too. Then a very fine dotting tool to draw a small line above the circle and connected the two shapes. Using white polish I made a smaller circle in the middle of the large one and then used a toothpick dipped in black polish to make the hands of the clocks.

And there you have it. A fun piece of nail art using a new technique. I’ll definitely try this again with a sandwich bag and earlier in the day, as you need a lot of drying time for both the character painting and the clocks.

It didn’t turn out as well as I hoped but that’s partially down to tools and colours but you get the general idea.

You can download Beat Sneak Bandit from the App Store now. I highly recommend it.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Game Inspired – Beat Sneak Bandit nail art

  1. Meredith says:

    So incredibly cute!

  2. stina says:

    Absolutely love all of this!

  3. Tina B says:

    What a super-cool technique! I don’t know that I have the patience for it but I love the result on your nails.

  4. nailsNAILED says:

    This is gorgeous! So cute and creative!

  5. Amanda (Mae) says:

    I just wanted to stop back and tell you how much I loved these and your idea with the plastic wrap or sandwich baggies, I tried it on parchment paper and it worked just the same just had to peel slowwwly but I figured same concept right? supposed to be non-stick. check it out, I referenced your idea and blog here: http://maesbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/30-day-challenge-day-9-rainbow/ thanks again! Awesome job and tip! 🙂

  6. […] So I wanted to try some “cheaper” brands to test out the quality and despite the fact that I wouldn’t touch their eyeliner with a barge pole their polishes are pretty decent. I think I bought some MUA at the same time but I can’t find them =s. Anyway, here we have: Electrified, Metallic Purple and Sea Siran. […]

  7. […] paced, bright and can bring out the competitive side in anyone. To celebrate this (and because my Beat Sneak Bandit nail art was brought to his attention again yesterday) I have taken the time today to do some Ring Fling […]

Leave a Reply

