Garnier Intensive 7 Days hand cream

If you read this blog you’ll know that I suffer from dry hands. I wash my hands excessively, which obviously irritates them. The recent cold weather has sucked the life out of them. And if I don’t apply cream throughout the day my skin dried up, cracks and sometimes even bleeds. It’s been a whole month since I’ve reviewed a hand cream and as if by chance Garnier’s new(ish) Intensive 7 days daily hand cream went on special offer at Superdrug so I thought I’d give it a go.

There are some pretty lofty claims on the packaging. It’s a cream for dry, rough hands that should keep your skin hydrated after washing. It also states that it is fast absorbing, non-greasy and non-sticky and that 100% of women found their skin felt softer. That’s quite a lot of promises for £1.99.

 

Let’s start with the simple stuff. I bought the Mango Oil version that does have a very sweet scent but it’s also has a fairly chemical smell. It’s not over powering and it’s not unpleasant but it’s certainly not the best smelling hand cream I’ve ever smelt.

The cream is very thick but you actually need a fair amount of product to cover your hands – the amount in the picture barely spread over both hands. When it first starts to melt it actually does feel a little greasy but as you rub it in it’s no longer greasy, nor is it sticky but it does feel a bit rubbery and as if you have a thin film over your hands. This feeling lasts for quite a while but it’s not entirely unpleasant and it’s not slippery.

Now onto the hydration claims. I’m very surprised but they seem to be true. I’ve been using it for about eight days now and I haven’t had a single crack or flake even after cleaning the bathroom or doing the washing up. My knuckles definitely feel smoother and softer and most of the rough patches have disappeared.

I’m very impressed with this. It’s not the nicest consistency but it does the job. It’s a 100ml tube so you’re getting a decent amount of product for a very reasonable price. This won’t be my go to cream but I know what I’ll be grabbing when I’m in a bind in future.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Garnier Intensive 7 Days hand cream

  1. Meredith says:

    Have you tried Avon’s silicone glove lotion? I used to use it when I did hair as my hands were in water and chemicals all day. One of the best in my opinion.

  2. sounds good! I swear my Neutrogena… nothing else seems to work on me

Leave a Reply

