Out on the lash – Nouveau Lashes review

My eyelashes are my least favourite part of my face. I have really stubby, thin lashes that for years – and I mean over a decade – I only trusted and used Christian Dior’s Diorshow Waterproof and other previous iterations of the same product. I had dabbled in other brands but for me, this was the be all and end all of mascara. A couple of months ago I decided that I needed to spice things up a bit and I have started to widen my horizons.

In the December Glossybox I received a Nouveau Lashes Noir Mascara. Though many of you have probably tried this, I thought I’d give it a proper go and review it. I’ve been using it on and off for two months now and I have very mixed feelings about it.

The wand is very thin so it’s easy to get into tricky corners but otherwise the application is a little disappointing. The bristles on the wand are quite widely spread and very narrow so even though you don’t get too much product on the lash it does stick them together slightly. After some fussing and separating they don’t look too bad but they do require a second coat. After a second coat the clumping is still a bit of an issue but can be fixed with a bit of effort.

 

Natural lash

One coat

Two coats

Mascara on left eye

It does add length and a bit of fullness to the lashes. My non-existent bottom lashes became visible and even with glasses on you can notice my lashes straight away. But there is no volume. I put the Diorshow on the other eye to draw a comparison and there’s no question that Dior provides a softer but fuller look but the Nouveau is more striking.

Diorshow right eye

Dior on right eye (with the mole) and Nouveau on the left

 

I have a slight amount of irritation to the Nouveau too. Not a great deal just a bit of itchiness and if I wear it for a full day there is a slight pinkness but I have very sensitive eyes so this is probably just me.

I think the Nouveau is ok for a day look and on a nice set of lashes I think it could work really well but for my sparse, stubby lashes it just doesn’t really look nice. I will still use this with a heavy liner so attention is drawn away from the mascara but it’s certainly not replacing my Diorshow.

Have you use this before? What did you think?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Out on the lash – Nouveau Lashes review

  1. Daniella says:

    The Nouveau has made a noticable difference on your eyes, I personally like a mascara that can give a false eye effect and I don’t think this would work at all on my eyes, it’s not good that you had an irritation, were you maybe allergic to one of the ingredients?

  2. McMademoiselle Likes says:

    Never used this one (and didn’t get it on my December GB), but I don’t think I’ll buy it: it makes lashes look a bit odd, really.

  3. […] mentioned before that I’m looking for a mascara that can live up to Dior’s Diorshow. This is definitely giving […]

Leave a Reply

