Estee Lauder’s Day Wear BB courtesy of Latest in Beauty

The world is going crazy for BB creams. You can’t turn a page of a magazine or watch the TV or even go to your local drug store without having them pushed in your face. They must have something for the world to be going so crazy for them. With that in mind I was really pleased when Latest in Beauty was offering a sample of Estee Lauder’s BB Creme for just £1.50 and I snapped that deal up no questions asked.

Firstly, what are BB Creams? A quick answer is that they are Blemish Balm Creams designed by German dermatologists for healing laser skin surgery as it soothes and regenerates the skin. The cream can contain a number of magical properties: anti-wrinkle, anti-acne, brightening, toning, anti-inflammatory etc. They can be used to even out skin tone, as a primer, moisturiser and if you’re looking for light coverage then it would be a good replacement for foundation. Effectively it’s an all round wonder cream that provides an economical and time saving skin care routine.

Estee Lauder’s Day Wear BB offers instant, even-toned coverage, anti-oxidents, SPF 35 and hydration for all skin types. It seems like a reasonable list though it does say that it “perfects the look of your skin” so it still forms a pretty high expectation.

I received the light version of the cream. Though the colour is quite dark once blended it actually has a really nice sheer finish. It still looks a bit too dark for my skin tone but it’s not unwearable and looks like I’ve got a bit of a sunny glow. It has a very creamy texture and you can easily work it into your skin with your fingers for a flawless result.

It is actually quite a remarkable product. My pores have reduced in size – they’re still visible but much smaller. The skin looks a little more even, not perfect but you can see a noticeable difference. It even gave my face a little bit of a lift. It does hydrate the skin and kept it fresh for most of the day. I did have a breakout after my first couple days of using it – whether that’s just a coincidence or a result of the use, I don’t know but either way it’s disconcerting seeing as it supposed to hide blemishes not cause them.

This will be great for the spring and summer seasons instead of a heavy foundation or a replacement for tinted moisturiser but for these colder months I still need my foundation. This does form a pretty good base/primer but I’m more eager to try it in the warmer months.

I think this is a blog posts with two messages. One is to embrace the BB trend. I’ve just purchased a drug store brand BB cream and will do more digging around to do more research but I can already see the benefits of this trend. The Estee Lauder one isn’t quite right for me at the moment but the texture is amazing, the product almost does do the impossible and I imagine the summer will see excessive use of this product.

The second message is one for those of you that haven’t tried Latest in Beauty. Try it. I can’t state this enough. I have had one beauty box and two little box from them so far and though it’s not flash or fancy they have good products with no hidden agendas and it’s all up to you. You order it when and if you want it rather than subscribing. Check them out.

Have you tried any BB creams yet? What are your favourites?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Estee Lauder’s Day Wear BB courtesy of Latest in Beauty

  1. Thanks, great post. I got the fairest Garnier BB and sadly it’s too dark for me (my fault). But also it doesn’t feel like it’s bringing me any massive benefits unlike this one which sounds a good one. Will definitely check out L in B!

  2. I just bought Skin79 BB cream mini set on Amazon. I’m so excited to try them out. I just heard about BB creams the other day and I’m hoping they do what they promise it could save me a lot of time in the morning :).

Leave a Reply

