Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner from Lush – body moisturising for the lazy

If you remember my blog post about Lush’s Leap Frog I mentioned that the lovely sales person was very generous to give me an “act of kindness” and gifted me a tub of Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner. I have been using it for a few weeks now and I thought it was about time to share my findings.

Like always, Lush has a lovely play on words and have named this product after the brain behind the project Rowena and given it a really dense rose scent. I think you can guess the rest of it by the name but I’ll still continue. It’s got argan oil and other brilliant skin nourishing ingredients and surprisingly you use it like a hair conditioner.

I don’t know about you but I sometimes get a bit lazy after a shower. I hate getting out of the hot shower, shivering, covering myself with a towel just to unwrap and slather moisturiser all over myself. It’s a necessary job but it’s one I happily skip some days. This is the perfect solution for this.

Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner is to be used in the shower. Like a hair conditioner you whack it on your wet skin, wait a bit and wash off. It’s really simple, clean and quick. Sound good so far? Great.

 

Now. I do like this product but I do have a few gripes with it so I’ll get those out of the way. If you use too much (which is easily done) or if you leave it on your skin too long it builds up a really waxy layer. This layer is fairly oily and repels water. Imagine you’ve just prepped a chicken or tossed some vegetables in oil before roasting them and tried to wash your hands. It’s just like that. When I was shown how to use this I was told to leave it on the skin for about three minutes but I find it’s too long as it’s near impossible to wash off.

It’s also got a very strong scent. It’s not unpleasant and once it’s been on your skin for about an hour it’s quite a nice aroma to wear but the initial smell mixed with the heat of the shower is a bit much – and your bathroom will smell of it for a really long time.

So there are my problems with it. Now onto the good stuff.

I’ve already mentioned the ease of use. I happily use this almost every shower and have no qualms or complaints regarding inconvenience. I love the concept and the fact that it works.

Though the skin does feel a bit waxy immediately after use, drying and waiting an hour or so eradicates that waxy feeling and leaves you with smooth, soft, happy skin. You only need a small amount as it spreads so easily and it’s easy to get all over coverage.

My favourite, favourite thing about this product is that it’s amazing for shaving. I have ridiculously sensitive underarms. The skin usually gets inflamed and it’s rough, red and just ugly. I usually use hair conditioner to shave my underarms but this is even better! Just a bit of the body conditioner under each arm and a disposable razor left my armpits smooth, soft and irritation free. As it’s actually stopped the irritation, the actual shaving has been closer and I’ve not had to do it as frequently either.

The same goes for shaving your legs. As it conditions as you shave and it’s a fairly thick substance there’s no pull, no irritation and no quick slips with the blade resulting in little cuts. My number one shaving product from now on!

I’m very grateful that this was gifted to me otherwise I don’t think I would have picked it up. It’s completely changed my opinion of body moisturising and has given me a solution to my sensitive skin. I hope that they will do different scents in the future and that it gives other companies something to think about.

If you’re not entirely sure about this product then pop down to your local Lush and ask for a demonstration. They’ll be more than happy to show you and you’ll be able to see how easy it is to use and the benefits.

It’s not the cheapest product at £15.50 (or $29.95 I believe) but it’s a big tub that should last you a decent amount of time.

So, who’s going to try it then?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner from Lush – body moisturising for the lazy

  1. Daisy says:

    Looks great i love lush!

    Also, I just thought I’d let you know I’m giving away a Clarisonic Mia on my blog! I’d love it if you could check it out on my blog. You can gain up to 10 entries! Here’s a link xx
    http://daisy–meadow.blogspot.com/2012/02/giveaway-clarisonic-mia.html

  2. Daniella says:

    I love this product but always use it on dry skin as I hate the feel on showered skin! It has a divine smell and does last ages.

  3. naomiwv says:

    I bought this for the first time on Wednesday and love it. For the full effect, you need to use Turkish Delight body wash first. And I love how overwhelming the smell is (I want to be overwhelmed by fragrance). 

  4. I love Lush’s products and love the sound of this product will definitely give it a go thanks. Years ago Benefit did an overnight body lotion which exfoliated your skin leaving it super smooth hopefully someone wil re invent this lazy wonder product x

  5. pearlessence says:

    So lucky to get such generous gifts… never happens to me 😦

    • I was really lucky. She had read my blog and we had a really nice chat and she was just going to give me a sample but then decided to give me the whole thing. I was so surprised and seeing as I feel over in the day (embarrassing and painful) it made me feel better. Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

