Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire review, gradient nail art and GIVEAWAY!

Give me anything that’s blue or teal and is packed with glitter and I am a happy girly. So when I picked up some Max Factor mini effects polishes a few weeks ago I was ecstatic. I don’t know why it took me so long to try it but now I’m tempted to stock up (even more) on them just in case they’re discontinued. Today I will show you Fantasy Fire both on its own and with a really simple bit of gradient nail art and there’s a little give away too.

Let’s start with the colour. It’s a really pretty royal blue come indigo with holographic glitter running through. In the sun the glitter changes from red to orange to gold to green – something that is really hard to capture on camera. It’s a beautiful colour and it’s understandable that people are going crazy for it.

It’s a teeny tiny bottle so with that in mind, the brush is teeny tiny too. But don’t worry. The jelly polish is very thin and goes on pretty much evenly so the brush has no impact on the application.

If you’re planning on wearing this polish on it’s own you’re going to need at least three coats for any form of opacity. I have applied four and I’m really happy with the result. Don’t let this deter you though as the polish is really thin and dries ridiculously quickly so you won’t be using that much extra polish or losing time. But if you are worried about using too much, use it as a glitter overcoat and get the same beautiful effect.

I’ve worn the polish for about five days now and on day four it started chipping. Considering that I didn’t put a topcoat on and I did a lot of housework, I’m really happy with how long it lasted (and I can’t bring myself to take it off).

Now onto that gradient nail art. It’s ridiculously simple and this sort of polish is ideal for it.

All I did was paint a thin coat of polish like I usually would as a base and let it dry.

I then painted a second coat but left about 2-3mm space from the cuticle so the first layer was still visible. Then let it dry.

I then repeated the process with a third layer, again leaving about 2-3mm of space.

And then a fourth layer just covering the last couple of millimetres at the tips of the nail.

This effect definitely made the polish look more dynamic and made my nails look longer. The great thing is that the polish dries pretty much instantly so it took about 10 minutes to do. And the glitter is so dense that even the thinner layers get the full holo effect.

Apparently this polish is really hard to get hold of. It’s sold out online and from some of the blogs I’ve read, no one can find it. It’s even being sold on eBay for £20. So I marched down to my local Boots that had some in stock and I bought them… all. I’m keeping one for myself but I have TWO to give away (don’t worry, I know which ones haven’t been used).

I will give one bottle to two lucky winners if you do the following:

  1. Subscribe to my blog and/or follow on Bloglovin’
  2. Follow @woshixiongmao on Twitter
  3. Retweet the giveaway: “I just entered @woshixiongmao’s giveaway to win a bottle of Fantasy Fire http://wp.me/p209jk-n4”
  4. And lastly… comment below and tell me your Twitter handle and why you should win.

Give away closes on March 23rd and there are just a couple rules I need to go through:

  1. I will only accept genuine entries from genuine Twitter accounts/blogs i.e. no accounts set up purely for competitions.
  2. I will only accept entries that have answered the question. That means no “Enter ME” comments will count unless there’s a creature mentioned – sorry.
  3. This is a UK competition only – sorry but due to the nature of the prize I’m afraid to ship abroad.
  4. I will contact the winners on Twitter so please leave your Twitter handle in your comment.

I’m really looking forward to seeing your entries and I hope to meet a lot of you on Twitter.

Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire review, gradient nail art and GIVEAWAY!

  1. I am not commenting to enter the competition as I don’t have a twitter account any more, but I just wanted to say great post and I love the gradient nail art you did, I will definitely have to try that next time I paint my nails!

  2. Inge says:

    Great post, I love the colour! Unfortunately, I don’t live in the UK 😉

  3. Sammy says:

    Wow, I’m really loving that gradient effect you’ve done here. I’m going to be copying and trying that one soon I think 😉

  4. Wow, I love the gradient effect! Gonna have to copy you with that 🙂
    I’d like to enter this please, I think I should win because I’ve never seen or heard of that polish before and I’m in my local boots all the time so I don’t think they ever put them out and I hate missing out lol.
    My twitter is xprincesssgemx
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, I have commented before dunno if you remember or not 🙂
    Thanks for doing this giveaway. If I don’t win I’ll be on the hunt for this polish anyway, I need it! x

  5. Naomi says:

    Hello, Great giveaway!

    I think I should win because I am purple and nail varnish mad (you only need to see my blog posts to see that) so this really is the perfect product for me – it is stunning! I would LOVE to blog about it, and if I win, I definitely will 🙂

    I follow you via WordPress and Bloglovin’, and on Twitter, and I tweeted about your giveaway.

    Naomi x
    @Bewitchery_ (My Twitter account)
    bewitchery.wordpress.com

  6. Kelli says:

    I’m totally in, because I think now that i’ve finally given up the job that didn’t allow nail polish, i should invest in some cute onesss (or ya know, blag them from you :):))

    Have a great day, Carly!

    @kellipandaaa

  7. Caroline says:

    My twitter name is @carolinemcash

    I would love to win this nail polish, I need a funky purple nail polish to match my new running top for when I do my 10k run in May xx

  8. Laura says:

    I’m not entering the contest because I don’t live in the UK, but I like that gradiant!

  9. D27th says:

    Hi! My twitter name is @D27th.

    I think I should win because I’m not trying to win it for myself. In fact I live in the US! I did a swap with a UK blogger recently and she never received the polishes I sent her. We split the loss monetarily but I still feel so bad about it. I would love to win this Fantasy Fire and have it sent to her!

    I hope you’ll allow my entry since I’m not looking for it to be shipped to me, but I understand if it’s against your rules for someone in the US to enter at all. 🙂

  10. Naomi says:

    Ooh who won this in the end? 🙂 xx

  11. […] a while ago Max Factor had a 3 for 2 on at Boots and with the whole Fantasy Fire malarky I had to invest in some of the mini polishes. There are loads of brilliant colours and […]

Leave a Reply

