Hourglass Liquid Powder Foundation review

Hourglass Cosmetics is the talk of the town. Celebrities are flocking to this long lasting miracle brand and I was extremely excited when I received a bottle of Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation to test and review. As this was a PR sample it is not my colour but I will review it as if it were and tell you about the texture and my experience and I warn you, there’s a pretty shocking picture of me.

I want to start with the packaging. It’s clean, sturdy, simple but elegant. The cylindrical bottle is easy to grip, feels substantial but still looks like a very feminine product. The interior pump is pretty standard but when you do pump you know you’re not going to get four times the amount of product you need oozing out. It’s just well thought out, well executed and good quality.

It is advised to use an Hourglass Foundation Brush when applying but as I didn’t have one and as the colour is so much darker than my usual foundation (and I’ve just cleaned all my brushes and sponges) I decided to apply with my fingers. I used a small amount of foundation on the back of my hand, wet my fingers and then spread it evenly across my face. This was actually a perfect application and once the water had evaporated it left flawless cover. The foundation also dries to a sheer powder finish and feels really light on the skin.

 

You can see a little bit of the product blended in on the left

I usually have trouble with foundation. I have the type of skin that foundation just doesn’t want to stick to and I get it on my glasses, on my phone, I get little patches on my nose and build up under my eyes so I usually have to take care of the situation every couple of hours. I wore the Hourglass foundation at home, doing housework and general everyday tasks and apart from a little, tiny bit of flakiness on my nose and a tiny bit on my phone (nowhere near as much as usual) it pretty much stayed where I wanted it to stay. I didn’t use any finished powder and I didn’t do any touch ups, it was just long lasting and clung to my skin.

But, saying that, my only downside is that you do need a decent makeup remover or facial wash to remove it properly. This may have just been an issue for me due to the difference in colour but it did take a couple of washes to get the pigment fully off my skin. It’s not surprising seeing as it’s got such good staying power but it is just a little niggle I had but it’s definitely not a deal breaker.

 

No other make up (and a really awkward angle) and after 4 hours of wear

Now onto the colour. If I bought this myself I would have gone for Porcelain, which is the lightest shade. I was sent Nude, which is three shades darker. Obviously it’s hard for me to judge the tone other than saying it’s very warm but without a trace of orange. I would love to get this on my mum’s olive skin (yes, my family is exotic and I am pale and ginger) because I think it will really liven up her skin and actually be a foundation she can use.

I’m actually really impressed with Hourglass. This is the first time in ages that a foundation feels smooth, almost silky, on my skin and has a nice even finish. It’s light enough to wear all year round and according to the stats it improves wrinkles by 15% after 20 days of use and reduces the appearance of wrinkles by 11% within 24 hours! Now, I don’t really have any wrinkles (yet) and I can’t use this colour for 20 days but I know my mum will love it and I will definitely try the Porcelain sometime in the future – it’s better to prevent than cure right?

Unsurprisingly it does have a slightly larger price tag than your run of the mill MAC, Nars or even Chanel foundations at £40 but considering my usual problems with foundation I am happy to pay the extra cost. Not to mention the fact that I used far less product than I usually do with other foundations and that I didn’t need to do any touch ups.

I can’t wait to try more products from Hourglass and I think the fact that it’s aimed towards oily, combination or blemish prone skin is a massive plus.

Hourglass Cosmetics can be purchased at Liberty or online.

DISCLAIMER: This product was sent to me for review purposes. All views are my own unless stated otherwise.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Hourglass Liquid Powder Foundation review

  1. Daniella says:

    The coverage looks great and like yourself I’m happy to pay a little extra for a product that works well on my skin and actually lasts!

  2. Tina B says:

    I’ve really heard nothing but good things about Hourglass products in general. It’s strange I guess but I actually like a foundation that is darker than my skintone as I feel I am too pale for my liking. Plus, I usually tan well on my body during summer too.

  3. […] posted about this foundation the other day and now I need to get the right colour of me. It is beautiful […]

Leave a Reply

