LA Colors liquid eyeliner – it might be cruelty free to animals but not to humans

So, if you read my blog you’ll know I’ve been giving some reasonably priced brands a go to see how they compare to other drug store brands like Barry M, Bourjois etc. Some have been good, some have been poor and today’s is just horrific. Actually today’s comes with a health warning so keep reading.

I love eyeliner. It’s my number one must have in my makeup bag. I use khol, liquid, felt, gel, shadow – basically anything I can. So with this in mind I thought I’d try a reasonably priced liquid liner from LA Colors. I picked it up from Beauty Base for £1.49 (I think) and I regret it.

Let’s start with the simple things. It comes in a pretty chunky tube that resembles a mascara tube rather than a liquid liner. Pretty standard, pretty inoffensive. The applicator is really long. The tube contains 7ml of product and obviously the length of the tube means you need a long applicator; not great for accuracy. Attached to the bottom is one of the worst brushes I’ve ever seen. When I think of a liquid eyeliner I think of a thin, delicate brush that’s stiff but gentle and probably about 5mm long so you have good control. This has none of those features. It’s long, thick, almost flat but really soft and easy to manipulate. However, if you have patience and a steady hand you can still apply a decent line on your dominant side – my left eye was a lot more difficult.

The formula is very thick and dense. You don’t need much to make a very black line and as long as you have a pretty accurate hand you only need to draw a single line. However, it smells really chemically and almost sour. Not really the most appealing smell especially when it’s going on your eye.

Now the HEALTH WARNING! So I’ve listed some bad points and I’ve listed some ok to good points but now the worst point. This product BURNS! As soon as I put it on my eye it burns and stings and it’s really uncomfortable. After removing it my eyes still hurt and the skin was puffy and red. This lasted for at least 24 hours. Even smelling it again makes my eyes tingle it was that bad.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don’t buy this product. Why risk it? If your budget is very tight then buy a black eye shadow and mix it with some water to form a liner rather than get this product. Make up is not worth putting your health at risk.

Have you tried this? Have you had a similar reaction?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “LA Colors liquid eyeliner – it might be cruelty free to animals but not to humans

  1. Crissy says:

    Wow, that’s quite scary. I might have experienced some slight burning when I was first trying out eyeliners.. but it didn’t go beyond a minute or pain later in the day.

  2. […] Read this… LA Colors liquid eyeliner – it might be cruelty free to animals but not to humans […]

  3. Sara says:

    I have this and I love it. Makeup can be very controversial, just because it does work for one that doesn’t mean it won’t work for others.

  4. every liquid eye liner iv tried does that to my eyes and are you saying youd rather put an unsespecting cute little bunny who doesnt know whats comming to her in this painful situation than take alil pain your self ? cause thats the vibe i get of the title and ending of the selection?

  5. Tess says:

    Makes me wonder how many thousands of animals have suffered horribly over the years as involuntary test subjects so women can look ‘pretty’ and cosmetic companies can profit by billions. After doing some research, I’ve decided to buy only cruelty free products from now on.

Leave a Reply

