Schwarzkopf Professional’s Color Freeze Shampoo and Conditioner review

Red hair. It’s something I love and something I hate. For most of my adult life I have had pillar-box red hair and it is a nightmare to look after. It fades quickly, it stains, and it can even go a funny pink colour if you’re not careful. About six weeks ago I decided to take the plunge and go from pillar-box red to ginger. My hair is naturally mousey brown with a healthy red tint in it and with my fair skin I thought that ginger would be a good move. But guess what… ginger hair is just as hard to maintain. After a couple of weeks of using normal shampoo my hair was already fading, the orange glow was dimming and my hair was getting a bit dry. You could even see the dye washing away, down the drain every time I washed it. I decided that I needed a new shampoo and conditioner and stumbled upon Schwarzkopf Professional’s Color Freeze range.The packaging is sleek and simple with white tubes, pink accents and clear, to-the-point copy. The shampoo is slightly bigger than the conditioner meaning that you can balance out your double wash and conditioning without having half a bottle of conditioner left behind.

Let’s start with the shampoo. It’s a really nice, thick shampoo that doesn’t feel sticky or slimy. It lathers up really well and a normal wash followed by a very light wash will give you the best results. It washes away easily and the water has no sign of hairdye or colour. A big plus so far.

The conditioner is, again, a great consistency. It feels substantial but light and it’s easy to spread. You don’t need too much to cover the whole head of hair and it’s actually really light when you wash it out.

The two combined smell amazing. While you’re using them you won’t really notice it much but once you’ve blow dried your hair and had some air in it, every time it skims past your nose you’ll be grabbing your hair to get a proper whiff. And the scent is quite potent. It’s not at all overpowering but you can definitely smell it just a strongly the day after a wash.

 

A little bit darker but still red and vibrant after four weeks.

After four weeks of use my hair is still pretty ginger and a natural amount of fade has occurred (far better than it was before) and straight after washing and styling the hair looks smooth, sleek and shiny. It even has a good amount of bounce to it.

Now this is my negative; it made my hair a little bit greasier than usual. I’m one of those people that don’t like washing their hair too much. I wash it every third day in a normal cycle and will do a cheeky fringe wash to give my hair a bit of an oomph. This shampoo and condition however meant that I had to wash my hair either every second day or most of the time every day. For most people this is the norm but for me it was just a little disappointing especially as everything else about it was so good. I also had a little bit of a scalp irritation after changing which lasted about a week but I do have a very sensitive scalp and I’m prone to scalp irritation when I change shampoos so if you’ve never had this problem before you should be fine.

Just to demonstrate the shine and that it's still really red after 3 weeks of use

It’s definitely a shampoo for coloured hair and a good one at that. For those of you who do wash your hair every day this is a great shampoo but if you’re trying to train your hair to stay fresher for longer than it may not be for you. I think I’m going to stick with it a bit longer just for the smell and the colour locking aspects.

I have a couple more products from this range that I will cover shortly so keep hold of you hats!

Disclaimer: This product was sent to me by a PR agency for my honest review. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Schwarzkopf Professional’s Color Freeze Shampoo and Conditioner review

  1. Is it full of sodium laurel sulfate? I’m trying to stay away from shampoos with that in, since I’m so near the beach. (I’m not bragging, it’s a really, really small house and we never have time to go to the beach.) But I hear you on the red hair fade and shampoo frequency! I’d be tempted to try this even with the SLS…

    • It’s the second ingredient on the list so I’m guessing there’s a lot in there =s I’m really quite impressed with the how long the colour lasted though.
      But yes, I am jealous of the beach… even though I try to stay out of the sun at all costs lol.

  2. Frankie says:

    Lovely colour ❤

Leave a Reply

