My free Chanel Paradoxal nail polish courtesy of BuyaPowa

I love Chanel! I will happily shout it out from the rooftops and let everyone know. I know there are a lot of naysayers when it comes to their nail polish but I love it. Recently BuyaPowa had Chanel’s Paradoxical nail polish up for grabs and I was the lucky so-and-so who got it for free. So without further ado I bring forth my delicious prize.

If you’ve not heard of BuyaPowa I will give you a little intro. BuyaPowa is an online, community shopping space. Four items are on sale at a time and these sales are called “co-buys”. Basically an item is up for grabs for 48 hours with a limited amount of stock and the more people that buy the cheaper it is. You can also bring people in to buy the items using social media outlets and if you bring in the most co-buyers you get your item free. And that’s how I got this Chanel nail polish.

Back to the polish. This is obviously very similar to the Barry M Dusky Mauve seeing as the Barry M is a duplicate of the Chanel – old news there. I have the Barry M and it’s one of my absolute favourites so why not own the more indulgent, more delectable, more expensive (that’s an understatement) version.

If you’re not familiar with this colour it is a beautiful muted brown with mauve shimmer running through it. In the bottle the mauve is very noticeable and very enchanting. It’s fairly iridescent as it sparkles in the light and brings the brown alive. On the nail it’s a lot subtler giving a shimmer that catches the light and your attention and just gives your nails a bit of oomph.

The polish is a lot darker on the nail than it is in the bottle. A single coat will give you an almost opaque, muddy brown and the mauve is barely noticeable. A second coat will make the nail completely opaque and give it far more shine and bring out the colours. The shimmer is very, very fine but still noticeable and this is the biggest difference between the Barry M and the Chanel. The Chanel is for the more sophisticated soiree when you only want a little bit of sparkle to be noticed by the people who are trying to notice. The Barry M is a coarser shimmer for the times you want people to point out their observation. Otherwise the colours are identical.

The Chanel formula is, as always, a dream. It glides onto the nail with ease, it dries within second and it’s smooth with a great finish. It is probably one of the best formulas I’ve ever used and one that I take pleasure with each time.

I decided to do a topcoat of matte polish and it gave it an almost brown suede look. The shimmer wasn’t visible at all but it was still elegant and very different. However, under a decent light you could notice a purple underdone so it was still working its magic.

I added a glossy tip and as you can see in the picture, you could notice the purple shimmer and undertones with the flash. The clear topcoat made the purple shimmer stand out a lot more in natural sunlight so if you are looking for this finish add a good quality top coat such as Leighton Denny’s 3-in-1.

I wore this for three days before a chip appeared on my left thumb and after another few days, that’s the only damage that has occurred. For me, Chanel polishes are great and long lasting, the same for my mother but I know it’s not the same for everybody.

In all honesty, I don’t know if I would purchase this (at full price) rather than the Barry M knowing what I know now but I’m damn well going to use it! And the fact that even if I had paid for it, it would have been £11 (or there abouts) through BuyPowa meant that it was almost half price. Can’t really argue with that now can you?

If you haven’t already clicked through to BuyaPowa do it now. There’s lots of great deals on there… but it does get addictive, I warn you now.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “My free Chanel Paradoxal nail polish courtesy of BuyaPowa

  1. Pretty! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I had a love/hate relationship with Chanel–one good bump against something and it would shatter.

    Have you tried Cover Girl’s new LashBlast yet? Do you have it over there yet? It’s in a purple chunky package. I’ll be happy to do a guest review for you–it’s a great, well-priced alternative to expensive brands… 🙂

  3. P.S. Forgot to mention I’m a total mascara snob, that’s the only reason I suggested it.

  4. kofykat says:

    Whoa, that is a pretty sophisticated nail polish. I always wonder why it’s worth spending on nailpolishes… but . might have to think again .

  5. […] have raved about Buyapowa before and I will do it again. If you’ve not heard of it then where have you been? It’s […]

  6. […] on them and I managed to get one of them free! So what we have here (and that have reviews) are: Paradoxal and […]

Leave a Reply

