Decleor’s Aroma Solutions Nutri-smoothing lipstick review

I go through phases. No, that’s not the right thing to say. I get obsessive about things at different times. At the moment, if you haven’t already guessed, I’m obsessed with lips. In the past two months I’ve bought more than a dozen lip products. But what good is a pretty lipstick or a sexy gloss when you have dry, flaky lips? Yeah. Not much really. I’ve recently reviewed a few lip treatments and today I have another one for you.  My mum bought me the Decleor’s Aroma Solutions Nutri-smoothing lipstick a few weeks ago and I’m going to tell you ALL about it.

Let’s start with the packaging. As always, the lipstick comes in a beautiful golden yellow box with purple writing. Decleor’s unmistakable signature design makes it feel expensive before you even open the box. The bullet has a clear, frosted, plastic lid with the purple font scrawled across it and a white, pearly, plastic base.

The lipstick is a solid, cream coloured stick that smells sweet and herby. When I first applied it, it caused a lot of drag and hardly any product was left on my lips. However, after the bullet had a little heat to it the product melted onto the skin and left a light but slightly greasy gloss on the lips. This greasiness fades after a few minutes but it is noticeable at first.

Once on the lips all signs of dryness, chapping or dehydration disappeared. The balm lasts for about four hours and during that time your lips are soft and smooth but unfortunately it needs instant reapplication. With some of the other products I’ve used recently I’ve only had to apply twice a day (morning and night), with this I was reaching for it constantly. I also noticed some dryness if I missed a day, something I haven’t experienced for a long time.

It says you can wear it under lipstick but I’ve found that some of my lipsticks find it hard to latch onto the lip after applying this. This may be due to the quality of the lipstick but I’ve not experienced this before.

I have such mixed feelings about this product. When it’s on the lip and I’ve been using it all day and my lips feel silky and smooth I love it. When I skip a day or pick it up in the morning and it’s a bit chilly I really don’t.  It’s almost like it’s two different products depending on the temperature.

It’s not a cheap balm either. For £13.00 I expect a lip balm to be all singing and all dancing. However, as the balm is so solid it does last a really long time and my trial has hardly made a dent in it so it will last me a really long time. I guess the question is would I repurchase it and the answer is no. It makes me sad because I love Decleor products but this is definitely not one of their best.

And it does beg the question: how much is too much for a lip balm?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Decleor’s Aroma Solutions Nutri-smoothing lipstick review

  1. bea says:

    This makes me sad! I soooo wish it was good as i love their face products! xxx

  2. Tina B says:

    This is exactly the reason why blog reviews by actual people are such a necessity! Love reading how a product actually performs. I know what you mean about being obsessed with certain things at certain times. Right now I think I’m actually neutral and not overly obsessed with anything in particular!

Leave a Reply

