Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr in Eternal Gold – It’s a bloomin’ miracle

With all the hype over Maybelline’s Color Tattoo’s and one of my reader’s suggestions that I should try Maybelline’s version of Revlon’s lip butter, I wandered down to my local Superdrug and had a little look at what they had to offer. Unfortunately they only had one pot of Color Tattoo left (Boots selling out completely) so with all Maybelline products being 3 for 2 at the moment, I picked up the Color Tattoo 05- Eternal Gold and a couple lipsticks – but I’ll tell you about those later – and trotted home to give it a go.

So what can I say about this product. I’ve not seen any blog posts on this shade as of yet and it’s generally not a colour I would reach for so I started my experiment with a completely open mind.

On first inspection the packaging is neat, sleek and not unfamiliar. It does resemble a lot of other products that are out there at the moment but why mess with a good thing?

In the pot the colour looks very iridescent but almost like a fleshy gold. It doesn’t seem too yellow or too bright but almost sandy. However, when I swatched it, it really did transform. It was really thick and very heavily pigmented and it looked like I was going to try and paint my body and appear in the remake of Gold Finger (nobody wants that to happen believe me). But it wasn’t a bad thing. It was bright and bold and a nice change for me. Definitely a colour for the up coming sunnier months.

The texture is dreamy. It’s not greasy or waxy but just a smooth cream that spread beautifully. I will say though that my first application was done with a brush and it was a bit clumpy and hard to manipulate. My second was done with my finger and it takes a bit more time to build up the colour but it had a better finish. I also added a bit of loose powder to create a smokier look and the cream blended over the powder like a dream. I kind of picked random colours using a bronze from Inglot and an olive eyeliner from Stila but I quite like how it turned out because it made my eyes pop.

Now, let’s get on to this whole 24 hour business. I will not wear makeup for 24 hours. I just refuse to. But I do usually have a problem with creasing. I don’t think I have ever worn an eye shadow that hasn’t creased within 2 hours. I wore this for almost an entire day and it did not move. Once the cream had dried it not only felt really lightweight and comfortable but there was no crepiness, no loss of pigmentation, no flaking, no creasing – it was pretty much how I left it in the morning. THIS IS A MIRACLE FOR ME! I can honestly say that this has never happened to me in my life.

I haven’t used it as a liner yet but I am intrigued to see how it behaves/looks. I might don the golden lash ala Hottie McHottie (AKA Lenny Kravitz) in The Hunger Games… well, I’m hunting down a good gold eyeliner anyway.

Though the fact that it lasts is amazing, the staying power does cause a teeny tiny issue. It is hell to remove. You think you’ve got it all but then you notice a layer of glitter or that your skin is slightly yellow. It obviously fades eventually and some heavy duty cleaning will remove most of it but it is a commitment! Luckily this is a really light shade so you could probably do a quick makeup change from day to night if necessary but I’m not sure about the darker colours.

I didn’t want to like this but ultimately I do. It’s not perfect but with the lack of creasing, the staying power and the general feel, it’s close enough. I definitely will try more of them but I might wait until they’re either more widely available or I’m in the States.

Have you tried them yet? What have you thought?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr in Eternal Gold – It’s a bloomin’ miracle

  1. Have you tried the Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadows? I really like them and was wondering how they compare? I tried the tester for the Maybelline ones and found them a lot thicker but obviously didn’t put them on my eyes so not sure whether they’re for me x

    • I’ve not but I want to now. I might see if I can get my hands on some. They definitely behave differently on your hand to your eyes – that was my first surprise when applying but I still enjoyed using them. I’ll let you know about the Benefit x

  2. […] had this for months but I never really used it. After testing it out last week I’ve become a bit obsessed with it and use it constantly. It’s a great dark, earthy shade with […]

Leave a Reply

