A moment on the lips a life time… in debt?! Feb/March Lipstick and Lip Gloss Haul

Everyone likes a good haul post. For some reason I didn’t do any in February so I’m going to make it up today by doing a bit one today. This haul post will be about lips and I won’t include all my lip care products as we’ll be here all day but I will mention a couple that have made a big impact over the past six weeks.

So here are all the lipsticks and lipglosses I’ve bought over the past six or seven weeks… there’s a lot.

I don’t know why but I’ve become with lip products. I don’t know if it’s because of the SS12 beauty trends or if it’s because my glasses and new fringe hide my eyes a little so I have to do something new. Either way, I’ve bought a lot. Some of these products you may recognise from previous reviews, some you won’t but let’s go through them.

My most expensive lipstick this month is the MAC Plum Dandy. It’s a beautiful frost lipstick in a warm lilac colour with gold shimmer. I posted about this a few weeks ago and the ethical dilemma I had with the product. Intriguing huh? It’s my first MAC lipstick but to be honest it’ll probably be my last.

Revlon lip butters are the talk of the town! I have the Cotton Candy and the Peach Parfait and I must say they are worth the hype. I have reviewed the Cotton Candy (which is a beautiful sheer pink with a hint of purple) but I will be reviewing the Peach Parfait this week – and I’m really excited about that… it has nothing to do with my girl crush on Emma Stone, promise.

Max Factor recently released a Flipstick range which is a double barrelled lipstick with two complimentary colours that can be mixed to make a third. I bought it in Gipsy Red and I love this product. Perfect for SS12 and so much fun! I did a blog about it a few days ago including a quick and easy tutorial for gradient/ombre lips.

The two slightly mysterious purple bullets are Maybelline’s Coloursensations. I’m a purple lipstick fiend and I picked up 240 Galactic Mauve and 338 Midnight Plum. I actually bought these because a reader told me I should give them a go. I’ve only had them a couple of days and haven’t had a chance to try them yet but when I swatched them in Superdrug they were creamy, highly pigmented and sparkly. As soon as I try them I will review them. Though I will say that when I got home and looked at the receipt they were a lot more expensive than I thought.

My last lipstick is Rocking Red from Smooch. This came in a Latest in Beauty box that I received this month. It’s a brilliant, bright red with a really glossy finish and it’s perfect for a glamorous retro look. I did a brief review in my post about the Red Carpet box and I must say that it’s definitely a brand I will look at in future.

Lip stains – something I’m suddenly very drawn to. When they first came out… I don’t know how long ago, I was put off by a swatch that bled all over my hand. Now they seem to be a lot better and I have been testing the water. My first is the Max Factor Lipfinity Lasting Lip Tint shade 09 which is a dark, sultry red. It’s funny because every time I look at them in the shop I almost buy the same product again and again. I personally think that this is the only decent shade and I have enjoyed using it thus far. I will be reviewing it shortly and I have a wee tutorial to go with it too.

On the subject of lip stains and the fact that Max Factor doesn’t have a great array of shades, I picked up Revlon’s Just Bitten lip stains and balms in Beloved and Twilight. They’re both purple and brown based reds and though I haven’t used them yet I have high hopes. Like a lot of products out there at the moment they have a little nubbin of balm on the top to add shine and I presume to lock in colour. These too will be reviewed shortly and be part of the tutorial.

I reviewed this Barry M gloss a few weeks ago. I got it with an Impulse spray for £3. It’s a lovely shimmery pink gloss perfect for spring days. It smells pretty lovely too.

I’m acknowledging the purchase of the LA Colors lipgloss but I’m pretty certain it’s going in the bin. You can read my review here.

Everyone’s going mental over MUA and I think they’re good value for money and I was kind of taken aback by the quality for the price. I bought this lipgloss a while a go but haven’t tried it yet – but a great shade for the more sunny days don’t you think?

I went to the Bourjois pop up boutique in Shoreditch late February. While I was there I bought the Effect 3D lipgloss in shade 23. I love this product and I use it quite frequently. It’s a bright purple sheer gloss packed with silver shimmer and it smells like sherbet. I haven’t reviewed this yet but I probably will in the future.

While at the pop up shop I picked up a goodie bag and found the Gloss Effect 3D mini gloss in Nudes Rose Mythic and a Gloss Bijou. I’ve not used either of these products and they’re a little kitsch for me but I can’t seem to get rid of them.

Honourable mentions for this month are Bliss Spa’s Fabulips, which I reviewed recently. It’s a spa treatment for your lips and I adore it. I highly recommend checking it out. If you’re just looking for a cheap and cheerful lip scrub then I can also recommend the LUSH sugar scrubs – they work and they’re delicious.

So that’s my slightly obsessive lip haul for the month and I’ve realised that they’re mostly quite similar. I should probably stop buying lip products for a while seeing as I have so many to get through but who am I kidding??

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A moment on the lips a life time… in debt?! Feb/March Lipstick and Lip Gloss Haul

  1. Glensi says:

    I love your nails in the final picture!

    I bought the same Lip Butters from Revlon as you, and I’m thrilled with them. Totally gorgeous and creamy.

Leave a Reply

