My first She Said Beauty box… and it’s a beauty

Yesterday I received a lovely package in the post. Some of you other beauty nuts out there may have received the same package but some of you may not have given She Said Beauty a chance yet. Well, if you haven’t taken the plunge yet or if you haven’t been home to receive yours I’m going to tell you all about this month’s box.

If you’re unfamiliar with She Said Beauty then where have you been? They’re the new beauty box on the block and they have a powerful team behind the brand. I won’t go into too much detail but you can check out my previous post about them to get more information.

But let’s get onto the box shall we. First of all: presentation.

The outer box is a shocking hot pink with the She Said Beauty logo on the front. When you remove this layer you find a beautiful duck egg blue box with She Said Beauty’s symbol in the middle of the lid with a very delicate pattern on the bottom left and top right corners of the box. The lid is a simple leaver lid and when you pull it open you find the standard information. Then you’ll discover some hot pink tissue paper and a hot pink ribbon and you know that once you break that seal you’ll be face to face with your products. The products are laid out really nicely on some paper straw that gives it a little bit of a country gift basket feel. I love the packaging. It’s really feminine but not garish (surprising considering the colour choices). A definite 10 out 10.

On to the products. I haven’t tried all of them yet but I’ve got some experience with some of the brands and I’ve tried some of them so let’s dig in shall we.

Bellapierre cosmetics shimmer pot in SP003 Champagne.

I have a lot of these. I have a very similar one in fact that has a very slight pink to it and I love it. It’s a very fine, loose shimmer powder that is ideal as eye shadow but with the more natural shades like Champagne they’re quite nice as highlighters (when used sparingly). You can also pop a bit of the powder in with some Vaseline or other lip balm and use it as a lip gloss or mix it with some clear polish to get a nice subtle nail colour. These are great because you can adapt them to how you want to use them. You can use very little just to have that little bit of sparkle to catch the eye or you can layer it up to get a heavier pigmentation. This Champagne colour is gorgeous and great for smoky eyes or natural but shimmery lids or added to a little blush to get a really glowing cheek. My one tip to you (if you don’t already know) is to only open one of the holes or otherwise you’ll have a mess on your hands. It’s £12.99 usually and a great product for a beauty box.

 

Filthy Gorgeous Nail Polish in Tu-Tu Much

I’ve wanted to try Filthy Gorgeous for a while. I swatched a couple of the 3D polishes in Debenhams and I didn’t know how I felt about them so it’s great to actually have a bottle to try out. The colour in the bottle is a really bright, almost neon cerise. It’s not something I would generally go for but it’s sometimes nice to have something a bit different in the collection. On the nail the colour is actually a lot darker, almost a pink tinted red and though it’s still a bit of a Barbie colour, it’s a lot more wearable than I initially thought. The formula is great. It’s really fluid but it goes onto the nail really smoothly and evenly and one coat is almost fully opaque. It dries pretty quickly and has a really glossy finish. I will say though, it does half smell. I painted my nails next to an open window because the fumes are quite strong. And my bottle didn’t have the little tag, which is a little disappointing, but I’m just being spoilt. I will definitely buy more from them though. A bottle usually costs £9.00.

 

Mischa Barton Luscious Lips in Pink Pop

I have never considered buying anything from the Mischa Barton line. I don’t know what it was but I never watched The O.C. and my brother worked with her sister and it was all just really weird and awkward because I didn’t really get her appeal. But this is what beauty boxes are for right? To try things you’ve never considered buying before. The pot of lip protecting balm looks a bit like an eye shadow pot but it’s nice that you can see the colour and that it’s neat. It has a very sweet vanilla scent which is nice and the colour is more rosy than pink but it doesn’t show up on the lips at all. I must say my lips did feel hydrated and it’s not a greasy balm or a waxy balm but I’m not a fan of pot balms in general. I will use it though. Another full sized product which costs £12.00.

 

BVM Face and Neck Polisher

I love a good face polish and it’s great to be introduced to a new product. Unlike some of the polishes I’ve tried this one is really simple. Dampen your face, apply a small amount, massage it EVERYWHERE and wash off. So simple. You get a fairly small sample of this but it’s enough to get a feel for the product. Mine exploded all over me so I lost some of the product but I have enough to last abut a week. It has a bit of an odd smell to it. It’s not unpleasant but I just can’t put my finger on what it is. The polish is supposed to work miracles and uses the ground walnuts to lightly exfoliate. The natural oils in the walnuts also help balance the skin and aid any irritations. I’ve only used this a couple times thus far but each time my face did feel soft, smooth, fresh and clean. My eyes did get a bit irritated from the particles but not enough to complain. I can’t wait to try more of this and if it continues like this I’ll probably buy it.

 

Comfort Zone Body Expert Kit

I haven’t used this yet but it is intriguing. It’s a big sample pack with six products to try and 10ml in each sachet. It’s a kit that’s supposed to get you ready for a beach holiday with fruit peel exfoliators, leg creams and shower gels and it does seem really exciting. I am mostly excited about the D-age body cream that promises visible firming. Even if you’re not a beach type of person I think this pack will help boost your confidence and give you a little pamper.

 

Erno Laszlo New York The Hollywood Collection

This is possibly the most exciting part of this box. It contains five different skin care creams all inspired by Hollywood starlets. I am giddy with excitement over these samples but I want to take my time and I know that I’ll probably save them for a special occasion of something. This is truly the kind of product you want in a beauty box and I’ve only seen one other company provide such an expensive and luxurious product in their boxes. I can’t say much more about this other than I’m ridiculously excited about using it.

Hidden in the box was a Lindt chocolate egg as an added Easter treat – how lovely.

The box is phenomenal. Six products (three of which are full size) for £9. I love that it’s an equal spread of makeup and skin care and that each product is so different. As a “surprise beauty box” it was pretty much spot on and from what I can tell from Twitter and other blogs, everybody got the same products – no squabbles about who got what or favouritism from the company which is lovely.

My first She Said Beauty box was a success and I’m really excited about next month’s already.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “My first She Said Beauty box… and it’s a beauty

  1. Tanya says:

    This box looks great. I currently subscribe to Glossy and Jolie but I’m not that impressed with them of late. I think I might let one of them go and replace it with SheSaidBeauty 🙂 xx

    • I unsubscribed from Glossy – the whole Valentines box fiasco really rubbed me up the wrong way especially as everybody gets a different box – that really annoys me. I am really pleased with this so far. Have you tried Latest in Beauty too? xx

  2. lushlili says:

    I really enjoyed my Glossy box but it’s funny how the packaging looks similar. Wonder if it’s the same people who do the boxes?

    • Probably. This one is a little different as it’s a lever lid rather than a removable one but the do feel the same.

      • lushlili says:

        I’ve found more sites that offer beauty boxes with different brands. There is Bellabox, Beauty Box 5 and Lust Have it. Similar subscriptions and packaging. Must be the latest trend 🙂

  3. […] This is Tu-Tu Much and I received it in the April She Said Beauty box. It’s a bright pink and really feminine. You can see more about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

