These are a few of my favourite things… this week

This has been a bit of an odd week for me. I’ve been slightly distracted and working on many things in the background and I feel that some things including the blog have suffered as a consequence and I apologise dear readers. My absence yesterday was due to my sister-in-law’s 40th Birthday party in Surrey and it was a very lovely soiree despite the stress and anger a miscommunication on the DLR had caused – it’s funny what a glass of wine, some cake, some happy faces and many energetic children can do to one’s mood. Alas, I don’t think you would like to read about that so I thought I’d do a quick round up of some of my favourite things from this week.

I’ve not done much in the real world this week as Mr Little Boxes had an operation last week and his recovery hasn’t been as quick as he was expecting. I’ve not bought any products (well, I’ve not received any) and I haven’t even visited the Models Own bottle shop yet (expect a blog post when I do) so I will just tell you about what I’ve been using, what I’ve been reading, what I’ve been watching and the like.

My favourite products this week have been:

Revlon Lip Butters

I seem to be biting my lip a lot at the moment and the lip butter has been a bit of a saviour for me because it still adds colour and hydrates. An absolute must have for all handbags out there. I have the Cotton Candy and the Peach Parfait and I heart them.

Stila Olive Eyeliner

I’ve had this for months but I never really used it. After testing it out last week I’ve become a bit obsessed with it and use it constantly. It’s a great dark, earthy shade with a bit of sparkle that makes the green in my eyes stand out.

My favourite outfit of the week was:

This little number from Dorothy Perkins. I bought it a few weeks ago but hadn’t worn it so thought I’d break it out for the party. I love the colour and the collar and the material.

I teamed it up with this ring and bangle from Accessorize and a cute, thin white hair band.

My favourite TV shows this week:

Game of Thrones

I’ve been so excited about its return and the first episode was a corker! I can’t wait to see more and the fact that it’s filmed in my Croatian home town Dubrovnik just makes it all the better – the cast aren’t bad looking either ;).

Homeland

Say what?! It took me a while to get into it but now I love it. It does feel a bit like watching 24 due to the music and the cinematography and even the pacing at times but I love it. The fact that it’s a twelve episode season also adds to the urgency making it really enthralling. I highly recommend it if you haven’t watched it yet.

The Voice

I love it. I honestly do. I was in shock last week when the amazing Kerry Ellis was turned down and I can’t wait to see what happens tonight.

I have been reading:

The Help

I’ve been reading this for about three weeks now. I’m really enjoying it but I keep reading extracts from other books or reading essays etc. I’m gaining speed now and I hope to finish it this week and watch the film.

I have been singing:

Wicked

Yes, I sing in the house and it’s terrible for all involved. After last week’s The Voice I have been singing the whole score of Wicked to my invalid boyfriend much to his horror and amusement.

The Creep

I love The Lonely Island and at the moment this is my favourite song of theirs. If you know me personally at all there’s a line at the end that I relate to and find much amusement in. It helps that this is one of the few Nicki Minaj tracks that I can bare and not get mildly offended by.

I think I’ve bored you with enough today and sorry it’s something a bit different but I thought I’d give it a try.

Until next time readers.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things… this week

  1. bea says:

    Hahah it’s worrying how many things in this list float my boat too!! Good thinking woman!! ……do the creep aaaaaahhhh….. do the creep….
    ❤ Bea

  2. Meredith says:

    I love the voice. I am so #teamwil.i.am!

  3. Tina B says:

    I love Homeland so much!! This was an interesting little mix of goodies.

Leave a Reply

