Latest in Beauty: Editor’s Choice Box

Happy Monday readers. It’s hard to have the Monday blues when the sun is shining and the sky is so blue. It’s even harder to have the Monday blues when I’ve had a pretty good weekend full of laughter, good news and a little treat that arrived on Saturday morning. You may already know that Latest in Beauty have released their first Editor’s Choice beauty box and today I’m going to tell you all about it.

I have told you about Latest in Beauty before but I bet some of you little scamps haven’t given it a go yet so I will tell you all about it once again. Latest in Beauty is a beauty box company with a difference. Instead of signing up to a blind subscription, you get to see the contents of the box prior to ordering.  Theme boxes are released every month and they’re generally significantly cheaper than other beauty box brands. You also have the option of creating your own luxury sample box or to order a Little Beauty Box, which is great value for money at a meagre £1.50. I cannot recommend them highly enough so go over and check them out.

Onto the Editor’s Choice box. As soon as I heard the words “Editor’s Choice” I knew it was going to be a good box. For a company that already excels in providing great beauty boxes, putting their own stamp on a box can only mean good things. It was a small box (five products – like most beauty boxes) and cost £5.95 plus p&p.

I haven’t tried every product yet but I’ll tell you about what I have given a go and some of the details on the products I don’t have personal experience with.

First off, the product that drew me into the box like a magpie: the Miners nail polish.

For the SS12 season, Miners have launched five new shades to celebrate this year’s pastels and bright colour trends. Get the season revamp with: Keepin’ It Teal (a bright turquoise), Mango Tango (a vivid orange) and Sunny Side Up (a pastel yellow). The collection also features two… more classic shades: Marshmellow (a really pastel baby pink) and Jezebel (a hot pink). All their polish comes in a great oblong bottle with a brushed silver top which is really attractive.

Each of the Editor’s Choice boxes carried one of these colours and although I was praying to get Keepin’ It Teal, I am more than happy that I received Sunny Side Up.

The colour is pretty much the perfect shade of yellow. It’s not harsh, it’s not too soft, and it’s just a lovely spring colour. It reminds me of running around in fields and lemon curd and it’s going to be great for holidays.

The application wasn’t as easy as most polishes. The consistency of the polish is a bit thin and when I was applying it, it was a bit streaky. It’s also a proper jelly polish and has a bit of a plastic finish to it once it dries which means you have to be extra careful with your hands until the under-layers of the polish are dry as it can just roll off. I needed three coats to get full opacity and once it was dry the streakiness settled and it actually had a fairly nice finish. It does take a while for it to dry fully but the colour you’re left with is worth the wait.

The polish is usually £2.99 and you get a discount code in the box so you’re getting even more value for money.

Eve Lom Rescue Mask

I have had some real issues with my skin. I’ve been suffering from stress breakouts and my usual cleansers and exfoliators and face masks haven’t helped one jot so I was happy to try something new.

Eve Lom is a clay based mask with almond extract and kaolin meaning that it not only cleanses but it also reduces redness, puffiness and absorbs excess oils. It basically sounded like a miracle mask and I couldn’t wait to use it.

And guess what? It’s a bloomin’ miracle mask. After using my usual cleanser I shook the bottle, applied a thin layer of clay all over my face, felt it dry almost instantly and waited for 20 minutes. I washed it off and instantly… INSTANTLY my skin felt tighter, cleaner, fresher, smoother, the tone was more even, my breakout looked calmer and I can honestly say that there wasn’t just an 80% visual improvement but it made me more confident. It’s my new favourite thing.

The clay itself smells a bit funny – it’s not the most pleasant scent to sit with for 20 minutes but I would sit through much worse for these kind of results. You really do have to shake it well too as even after a shake I had a lot of water come out of my bottle. It’s a 15ml bottle and I think I can get at least 6 uses from it, maybe even 10. A full sized product is £35 and I am seriously putting it on my wish list and will tell everyone about it.

Apparently you can water it down and use it as an eye mask too so I will give it a go and let you know. I think I’ll use it a few more times and do a full review at some point.

Emma Hardie Amazing Face Natural Lift and Sculpt Skin Plumping Serum

Emma Hardie has been awarded some of the most sought after prizes in the beauty industry and it comes as no surprise after trying this product.

It’s a multi-tasking daily serum promoting natural anti-ageing, defending hormones, botanical enzymes that reduce the appearance of wrinkles, lots of vitamins and other goodies that help soothe, tighten, nourish and generally treat the skin as it should be treated.

It’s a very thin serum and you only need a little to cover the whole face but again, the results are astonishing. I’ve only used it a couple of times but you can instantly see the benefits of using this product. My skin was brighter, smoother, energised and looked younger. I can’t wait to try this more to get a better gauge of how well it works (i.e. anti ageing). It’s usually £44 for a 30ml bottle.

AD Skin Synergy

I haven’t used this yet but it’s a nourishing night treatment for the face. It’s full of rose which is great for soothing and hydrating the skin. It says it’s gentle enough to go around the eyes and I believe it’s another anti-ageing product which I love! I can’t wait to use this one.

L’Occitane Divine Cream

I haven’t used this either and it’s another one I’m really eager to. I love the packaging and I will probably keep the little pot for when I’m travelling. It’s another anti-ageing product and I think that that just shows how important it is to start focusing on the condition of your skin no matter if you’re 20 years old or 60 years old.

This is a great box and I think it’s done exactly what a beauty box should: it’s shown me some products I wouldn’t shell out for unless I knew they had results and introduced me to a couple new brands. The Eve Lom is definitely my new best friend and I think I need to purchase that as soon as humanly possible.

Did you get the box? What did you think? If not, are you going to give Latest in Beauty a go?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Latest in Beauty: Editor’s Choice Box

  1. beauty balm says:

    I didn’t get this as the anti-ageing box had three of the same items x

  2. […] is called Sunny Side Up and it came in the Latest in Beauty Editor’s Choice box which I reviewed earlier this […]

Leave a Reply

