Our first few steps towards wedding planning

Like many girls, I have been mentally planning my wedding since I was knee high to a grasshopper. I had grand ideas of a winter wedding with snow and a little hot drinks stall. I had dreams of a Labyrinth themed wedding with contact jugglers and a ball room filled with beautiful, ornate dresses. I had visions of castles, gardens, mazes, churches, barns, lakes, ice walls – basically every scenario possible ran through my head and I loved them all. Now the time has come and I have to actually choose a theme, a venue, music, a cake and the rest and it’s harder than I could have imagined.

I have been engaged for a grand total of six days and after so many queries of when the big day will be, we have just about decided what month we’d like to get married in. Despite my dreams of a snowy winter wedding, Britain isn’t the most reliable country when it comes to weather and we don’t fancy a dark, damp, miserable wedding day. With this and the fact that a lot of our friends are based in the States, we kind of want to show London and the UK at its best so we have opted for August 2013.

That’s only 15 months. 15 months to plan a wedding, get in shape, save a decent amount of money and not have a nervous breakdown. But, we’ve made the first decision. It makes it a little bit more real and a little bit more terrifying.

I have been reading magazines, blogs, doing image searches and daydreaming about weddings every spare moment I have and I’m pretty much lost in a sea of ‘I Do’s. But now it’s time to get down to business. We instinctively started to discuss our guest list and dates that we think people can make. Apparently, this is the right thing to do. According to this wonderful article that made me feel a little bit more sane, season and guest list are the first two big steps to take. But choosing who will be at your wedding is hard. Between us we know over 1200 people – as in we actually know them. We can cut that list by roughly 75% without a second thought but then deciding on a group of people we love and want to share our day with without offending anyone is pretty tough. We’ve always said we wanted a small wedding – 50 people tops – but now we’re looking at 100 and it’s making us nervous and that’s not even considering the singletons who may want to bring a date (is that a thing in the UK?).

Surprisingly, with my stressy nature, I’m calm. I don’t think Moo knows it yet but I plan on taking him somewhere to eat and have an afternoon drink this weekend and attacking him with a list of names and some potential venues so that we can start thinking about it seriously. If your fiancé is anything like mine, I think stealth attack is seriously the way forward when it comes to wedding planning.

So all you wives and brides-to-be, help a sister out. How did you start taking those first few steps?

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Our first few steps towards wedding planning

  1. Hi Carly-Ann! I am so happy that you stumbled upon our First Things First Approach to Wedding Planning series! I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to hear that it helped you so much. I know that getting engaged is one of the most exciting times in a girl’s life. ENJOY IT!! If you’re thinking next August, that’s actually a long ways away. Take a few weeks to just enjoy and relish in the fact that you are engaged to the man of your dreams, take the time to ogle the sparkly something on your left hand. Then, break everything down, from your wants to your needs, etc. Don’t look at the whole big picture. Break it down and tackle one thing at a time. Everything will work out in the end exactly as it’s supposed to. As long as you’re happy, in love and MARRIED the day of, nothing else matters. So much love and luck to you as you begin this new chapter of your life! xoxo

  2. I don’t know whether there’s a “right” way to do things, but I’ve heard that it’s a good idea to decide your top 3 priorities for the day. This could be anything (must have amazing food / must have brilliant entertainment) but then later, whenever you find yourself stressing over the little details of something, you can think “is this one of our priorities?” and if it’s not, you can refocus. But I think it’s important to do this early on because it will definitely influence your venue choices. We wanted really good food (in the three course, sit-down meal with silverware sense) so when searching for venues there was no point in looking at those ‘barn’ type venues with a hog roast and buffet. I think knowing your must-haves helps to narrow down your selection process.

    You also need a rough idea of the guest numbers as you’ll be looking at capacities, but don’t panic too much about finalising the list – we still haven’t attempted a proper guest list, other than verbally naming people and counting on our fingers! That’s the thing I’m least looking forward to, actually…

  3. Aww congrats, 15 months sounds like a nice amount of time to have everything planned without it being too hectic! Hope it goes well and remember at the end of the day it’s about you two!

  4. Leanne says:

    Everything will fall into place. I’m getting married this November and it only seems like 5 minutes ago that we booked it!
    We booked the venue and photographer first as we didn’t want to risk them being booked by someone else. Most other things we’ve only now started doing. xx

  5. Take a deep breath, then another. It will all work out! SO excited for you!

Leave a Reply

