A lost weekend and the Cosmo blog awards

Hello my lovelies. I apologise for being so quiet the past few days but I have a good reason. Where last weekend was full of happy excitement and celebration, this weekend I ended up in hospital. Yes. Exactly six months since the last time I was in hospital, I saw myself push through the doors of A&E but this time with crippling pains, repetitive vomiting (apologies for the graphic detail) and uncontrollable shaking. No, it wasn’t a hangover as I rarely drink but it was quite a scary time. I have had similar pains before but none that have woken me up in the middle of the night and only worsened over 15 hours despite the eight different intravenous painkillers I had pumped into me. Turns out I had a kidney blockage leading to inflamed, infected kidneys. I was so grateful that it was just an infection. I spent some time in the hospital on many different drugs and now I feel a lot better (not completely but getting there) and taking a bucket load of pills three times a day.

So that was my weekend and I have been recovering ever since watching: Spiderman, Game of Thrones, Mr Popper’s Penguins and Curb Your Enthusiasm. Not exactly what I was planning, (wedding planning, brunch with Moo, family dinner for my mum’s birthday, Mirror Mirror) but I can’t complain too much, except for the excessive bruising all over my body.

So onto today’s main event. I know I’ve just had a little moan and it’ not usually my style but I try not to hide anything from you and I want to explain why you haven’t heard from me for a little while. So with that in mind, I have a plea for you.

Cosmo have opened their 2012 blog awards. It’s a very prestigious award in the blogging world and I was hoping that you guys would be kind enough to do me a solid and vote for me.

When I was last in the hospital, I had to face facts that I wouldn’t be working for a little bit. This was very upsetting to me as I love writing and I love being creative but being bed bound for a while meant that I was at a bit lot a loose end. So after a month of healing, I started this blog so that I can continue writing on a daily basis and the rest is history. The blog is now five months old and thanks to all of your support it has been growing on a daily basis and I cannot thank you enough. From your love, comments and sharing I think you understand how much passion and dedication I have for the blog and the words I put into it and I hope that you find it entertaining enough to vote for me as the Best New Beauty Blog and the Next Newcomer.

If you do wish to vote for me, the forms are really quick and easy and it would mean so much to me if you would take two minutes to just jot down my blog and why you like it.

Once again, thank you all for your support and love over the past 5 months. You’ve made this so enjoyable and helped me feel like I have something to give back even from my sick bed (dramatic I know).

I will be returning to normal blogging as of tomorrow but there won’t be any swatches for a while… my arms and hands are a little bit worse for ware.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “A lost weekend and the Cosmo blog awards

  1. Leanne says:

    Glad to hear that you’re on the path to recovery xx

  2. Daniella says:

    You poor thing! Make sure you take the time to look after yourself and don’t rush back into work too soon! xx

  3. Yikes!!! I’m so glad you’re OK! That sounds horrific. (Although I’ve heard Mirror Mirror is horrifically bad, so perhaps that was a lucky escape.) Voting for you now!

  4. […] a while since my last post about them but there’s a good reason why (other than my recent hospital visit). I recently tried out Harvest Moon and it lasted for 10 […]

  5. Tina B says:

    Sorry to read you went through all that but glad to hear you are recovering :).

Leave a Reply

