It’s been one of those weeks but Get Taxi helped me in my hour of need

Good morning readers. Sorry for my absence the past few days but it happened again. Yes, unfortunately I became ill again and was in and out of the doctors for a few days and ended up in hospital on Saturday. But the good news is that everything that’s happening has started to make sense and as I’m sure you all know, things are easier to deal with when you know why and what is happening. But I digress. Going to the hospital again actually gave me an opportunity to try something that I’d been contacted about a while ago. It’s a new(ish) app that makes ordering a taxi super easy.

I very rarely use taxis in London. I hate standing by the side of the road trying to grab someone’s attention only for them to stop for someone far more aggressive. It’s just a bit of a game of chance and I’ve been known to give up and walk home after a failed attempt on Oxford Street. So, with my inability to stop a taxi and the annoying habit of that some well known firms have of charging a minimum of £11 for any journey plus a £5 booking fee that they don’t tell you about on the phone if you pay by card, an alternative is necessary.

Step in Get Taxi. Get Taxi is an app that allows you to order a taxi through your smart phone. It has a map that allows you to view the taxi’s progress, gives you an ETA, tells you the driver’s name, ranking, telephone number and even shows you a picture and it’s fast! It stores your rides, driver information, how much you paid and how you paid so that you can keep a track of your taxi rides too.

So in my hour of need ,I used the app to order a taxi. I was given the option to pay cash or card and I opted for cash. The taxi’s ETA was five minutes after booking and a black cab was outside my house in four. The driver was really friendly, made a couple jokes about me attacking my fiancé and that’s why we were going to A&E which lightened the mood and we had a really pleasant journey (aside from the searing pain I was in).

While waiting for the taxi, it was great being able to see exactly where it was on the map so we knew when we had to go downstairs and there were no games or false promises. It was strangely hypnotic watching the taxi get closer and the two countdowns witting down to zero. It’s a much better system than receiving a text to say your taxi is coming/outside when it’s nowhere near your house.

It had one thing that niggled me a little and that’s the locator couldn’t find my address so I had to manually type in my postcode. It’s not really a problem but if I were in a location I didn’t know it may be a little tricky but as you have the driver’s telephone number it’s not a massive deal and it does give you a list of nearby landmarks that you can walk to so it’s not really a problem at all. I only mention it so you know exactly what to expect.

I’ve used other London Taxi apps that promised a black cab but ended up a people carrier with an inexperienced driver or drivers that take a longer route to get a dearer fare in the past so it was really nice that what was promised was delivered.

I have also just thought of another great feature of this app. As it stores all your past journey information, you can get in contact with the driver if you leave something in the taxi. You’ll know the name of the driver and their telephone number and exactly what time you took the taxi so it’s more likely you’ll be able to get your item back (as long as it’s not your phone ;)). So if you’ve been known to leave a wallet or a handbag or scarf in a taxi before, then this would be a great service for you.

The app is free so I highly recommend downloading it (available of iPhone, Android and BlackBerry) and exploring it yourself. I was really pleased with the service and I will definitely use it again. For more information, check out their website and watch the video. If you do give it a go, let me know what you think. It’d be great to know if your experience is as good as mine.

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post but, as always, all statements are my own and it is an honest review. If I were not happy with the service I would not have written a review.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “It’s been one of those weeks but Get Taxi helped me in my hour of need

  1. Hey you–I said NO MORE HOSPITALS! I was a bit worried about you so I’m glad you posted, and I hope you are on the mend. Stop all this nonsense, please!
    And on another note, where was the iPhone when I lived in London? I could have used this app A LOT.

    • Hello! I’ve been hiding in the bushes observing this week. Well, when I say bushes I mean under the duvet.
      I have learned what is causing the problem – the medication for my spine/brain thing is affecting my kidneys but I have to wait to see my neurologist on June 6th. But at least I know what’s going on… I think.
      The app is SO useful. It’s a bit crazy how much I rely on my phone. I must learn how to do things without it again.

      • Wow, that sounds serious! Keep hiding under the duvet until you perk back up. And don’t lose the phone. I know we used to live without them, but I’m not sure how. I don’t even think I could live anywhere without one now! 🙂

  2. Leanne says:

    This sounds like such a great app! Its a shame they don’t cater for around my area.
    I hope you’re feeling better now and no more hospital trips! xx

Leave a Reply

