How I do my foundation…

A lot of my friends ask me how I do my foundation. I have problem skin which has recently become quite oily and it took me a long time to find a way to get my makeup to stick to my face and to get a consistency I was happy with. In the past I’ve used thick foundations, tinted moisturiser, powder foundations, BB creams, the list goes on. I’ve also tried a whole list of tools too: sponges, brushes, egg shaped sponges, fingers etc. Nothing was working for me. I tested and tried until I stumbled upon this method and I’m really happy with it so I thought I’d share it with you.

So after fully cleansing and moisturising I usually use a primer (POREfessional is my makeup of choice) but recently I haven’t needed to as I’ve been using Super Serum from Dr. Nick Lowe. The first stage is to apply a concealer. As I’m so pale, I can’t find one that matches my skin tone but I’ve learned that this isn’t a bad thing. Having a concealer that’s a little bit darker helps cover the blemishes or red patches and then your foundation can lift the colour. At the moment I’m using Fair from the Natural Collection. It’s a really nice, very cheap concealer that blends nicely onto the skin and comes in a nice lipstick like bullet so it’s really easy to apply.

Once the concealer is blended, this is where the magic happens. I take my liquid foundation (at the moment it’s Nars Sheer Glow foundation) and add a small amount on my hand – about the size of a £1 coin (or a nickel in US) – and then add some water. I have a little spray bottle from Muji which cost me about £2 and 3-4 spritzes of water is perfect, if you don’t have a spray, then dip your fingers into some room temperature water and use about 3 -4 drops. Add that to the foundation and mix until your foundation is loose and fully combined.

I apply this mix with my fingers all over my face, blending with my fingers. The thinner foundation glides on really easily and leaves you with a really light covering of foundation. If you want the foundation a little thicker, let the first layer set and then repeat the process. As the foundation is so light, you can add more to problem areas without making it cakey or making the foundation overly visible.

Once applied, use a brush – I use ELF’s kabuki brush – and buff our the foundation going into the hairline and removing any streaks.

The water will evaporate leaving a very light, even layer of foundation on your face which looks seamless and natural.

I then add a layer of powder. I often use ELF’s High Definition Powder as it’s very fine and doesn’t add any bulk to the light foundation but I also use pressed, translucent powder (mine is very old and I’ve just purchased the new Lush powder which I will review soon). I add a very fine layer of powder all over the face to set the foundation and I sometimes opt for a quick mist from my Muji bottle to help the makeup stay in place.

So that’s it. It’s not revolutionary but most people add water to the implement rather than the foundation and that never worked for me so I thought I’d try this and *touch wood* it’s seems to have done the trick.

Let me know if you try it and if you notice the difference. Oh, and always make sure to have CLEAN HANDS and to clean your brush… really does make a difference, I promise.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

